Kansas State Department of Education
search_arrow
 
Search




FaceBook Twitter Contact KSDE

Career Standards and Assessment Services (CSAS) Menu

The following sub-menu can be used to navigate within the CSAS Team web pages.


Commercial Driving Schools

The Mission of Driver Education (Commercial Schools):
Driver education, provided by Commercial schools, prepares students for successful careers and a lifetime of informed choices to insure personal safety to self and others on the road.

To Accomplish this Mission (offered by Commercial schools or Unified school districts):
Driver education courses are often more comprehensive and efficient than learning on your own or from a biased family member who may or may not have “good driving habits”. Driver education courses teach everything from the basics of traffic laws and traffic signs to defensive driving strategies. Endorsed driving instructor will teach the importance of Safety in addition to modeling good driving etiquette and providing experienced instruction. Instructors reinforce best practices – such as distraction-free driving, no texting, mandatory seat belt laws, and defensive driving habits. Many professions involve driving a vehicle to/from work or on the job. For this reason, it is the goal of driver education courses to put courteous, safety conscience, competent drivers behind the wheel.  

Driver Education
Program Consultant

Joan Peterson
(785) 296-8107
jpeterson@ksde.org

Deputy Commissioner
Division of Learning Services
Brad Neuenswander
(785) 296-2303
bneuenswander@ksde.org

Director
Career, Standards and Assessment

Scott Smith
(785) 296-3142
sesmith@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Career and Technical Education
Jay Scott
(785) 296-3951
jscott@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Academic Standards
Jeannette Nobo
(785) 296-2078
jnobo@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Assessment
Beth Fultz
(785) 296-2325
bfultz@ksde.org

Copyright 2014 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records
The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)