CHANGE IN FINGERPRINT REQUIREMENT FOR LICENSURE
At their September 2014 meeting, the Kansas State Board of Education adopted regulation changes regarding requirements for a fingerprint based records check. These changes will affect veteran educators who have never submitted fingerprints as part of any previous application for a Kansas certificate or license issued by the Kansas State Department of Education.
EFFECTIVE November 15, 2014:
Any person submitting any of the following will ALSO be required to submit AT THE TIME OF APPLICATION, a complete set of fingerprints and the required fee:
- An application for the first Kansas certificate or license;
- An application for renewal of an expired Kansas certificate or license; or
- NEW»» An application for renewal of a valid Kansas certificate or license, if the person has never submitted fingerprints as part of any previous application for a Kansas certificate or license.
Read frequently asked questions...
- If this is your first license or your license is expired, make sure you submit your license application and fee no later than six months after you submit the fingerprint card and fee or you will be required to submit a new card and fee.
- If your license is currently valid and you have never submitted fingerprints as a part of any previous application for a Kansas certificate or license, submit your fingerprint card and fee at the time you submit your next license application.
You must use the Kansas preformatted card (FBI, FD258). Only one card is required.
1. Fill out the card:
- Complete name (including aliases, maiden, previous married), mailing address, social security number, citizenship, and personal information (sex, race, height, weight, eyes, hair, place of birth, date of birth).
- DO NOT SIGN THE CARD YET - this will be done in front of the law enforcement officer.
The spaces for OCA, FBI, and MNU numbers may be left blank if you do not have one of those
- Cards with missing or incomplete information will be rejected.
2. Have your prints taken: (A qualified law enforcement officer or properly trained school personnel must take your fingerprints)
- Contact your law enforcement agency before you go!
- Take the filled out card to your local police station or sheriff’s office.
- Take at least one form of picture identification with you.
- Some law enforcement agencies may charge a fee to take your prints.
- Sign the card in front of the officer taking your prints.
- Digital prints are accepted as long as they are in the FD258 format.
3. Background check fee:
- Prepare check or money order for $50.00 made payable to KSDE.
- DO NOT SEND CASH.
- The $50.00 for the background check must be submitted as a separate payment from the application fee that is submitted with the license application. Do not combine the background fee and the application fee.
- A card submitted without the background check fee of $50.00 will not be processed.
4. Mail the card and the fee:
- Place adequate postage on an envelope addressed to Teacher Education and Licensure, KSDE, 900 SW Jackson Street, Suite 106, Topeka, KS 66612-1212.
- Request the law enforcement agency performing the fingerprinting process to place the card along with your $50.00 background check fee in the envelope, seal it and mail it.
- Bent or folded cards will not be accepted and a new fingerprint card will be mailed to you for prints to be taken again.