Kansas State Department of Education

KSDE FaceBook link KSDE Twitter link Contact KSDE


Challenge Award


2021 Challenge Award Schools


Abilene USD 435
  • McKinley Elementary School
Caldwell USD 360
  • Caldwell Elementary School
  • Caldwell Secondary School
Central Plains USD 112
  • Central Plains Junior-Senior High School
Chaparral USD 361
  • Anthony Elementary School
  • Harper Elementary School
Cherokee USD 247
  • Southeast Elementary School
  • Southeast Middle School
Concordia USD 333
  • Concordia Middle School
Deerfield USD 216
  • Deerfield Middle School
Derby USD 260
  • Oaklawn Elementary School
  • Paul B. Cooper Elementary School
  • Wineteer Elementary School
Dexter USD 471
  • Dexter Elementary School
Dodge City USD 443
  • Central Elementary School
  • Miller Elementary School
  • Northwest Elementary School
  • Sunnyside Elementary School
El Dorado USD 490
  • Blackmore Elementary School
  • Skelly Elementary School
Elk Valley USD 283
  • Elk Valley Elementary School
Emporia USD 253
  • Logan Avenue Elementary School
Erie-Galesburg USD 101
  • Erie High School
Fairfield USD 310
  • Fairfield Schools
Galena USD 499
  • Galena Middle School
  • Liberty Elementary School
Garden City USD 457
  • Victor Ornelas Elementary School
Geary County USD 475
  • Grandview Elementary School
  • Washington Elementary School
Golden Plains USD 316
  • Golden Plains Middle School
Great Bend USD 428
  • Great Bend High School
  • Park Elementary School
  • Riley Elementary School
Grinnell USD 291
  • Grinnell Middle School
Hamilton USD 390
  • Hamilton High School
Hays USD 489
  • Lincoln Elementary School
Healy USD 468
  • Healy Elementary School
Hutchinson USD 308
  • Faris Elementary School
  • Lincoln Elementary School
Independence USD 446
  • Independence Middle School
  • Jefferson Elementary School
Jayhawk USD 346
  • Jayhawk Elementary School
Kansas City USD 500
  • Arrowhead Middle School
  • Bertram Caruthers Elementary School
  • Emerson Elementary School
  • John Fiske Elementary School
  • Mark Twain Elementary School
  • Sumner Academy of Arts and Science
  • Thomas A. Edison Elementary School
Kingman-Norwich USD 331
  • Kingman Middle School
Lakin USD 215
  • Lakin Middle School
LeRoy-Gridley USD 245
  • Southern Coffey County Elementary
Lewis USD 502
  • Lewis Elementary School
Lincoln USD 298
  • Lincoln Elementary School
  • Lincoln Junior-Senior High School
Lyons USD 405
  • Lyons Central Elementary School
Macksville USD 351
  • Macksville Elementary School
Marion-Florence USD 408
  • Marion Middle School
Minneola USD 219
  • Minneola High School
Montezuma USD 371
  • South Gray High School
Morris County USD 417
  • Prairie Heights Elementary School
Newton USD 373
  • Slate Creek Elementary School
Olathe USD 233
  • Westview Elementary School
Osage City USD 420
  • Osage City Elementary School
  • Osage City Middle School
Pittsburg USD 250
  • Meadowlark Elementary School
  • Pittsburg Middle School
  • Westside Elementary School
Pretty Prairie USD 311
  • Pretty Prairie Elementary School
Remington-Whitewater USD 206
  • Remington Elementary School at Potwin
Rock Hills USD 107
  • Rock Hills Junior-Senior High School
Salina USD 305
  • Cottonwood Elementary School
Seaman USD 345
  • Logan Elementary School
Shawnee Mission USD 512
  • Crestview Elementary School
  • Merriam Park Elementary School
Southern Cloud USD 334
  • Miltonvale Elementary School
Southern Lyon USD 252
  • Hartford Junior-Senior High School
  • Neosho Rapids Elementary School
Stanton USD 452
  • Stanton County Elementary School
Sublette USD 374
  • Sublette Elementary School
  • Sublette Middle School
Thunder Ridge USD 110
  • Thunder Ridge Middle School
Twin Valley USD 240
  • Tescott Elementary School
Wabaunsee USD 329
  • Maple Hill Elementary School
Wichita USD 259
  • Allison Traditional Magnet Middle School
  • Brooks Magnet Middle School
  • Franklin Elementary School
  • Horace Mann Dual Language Magnet School
  • Kensler Elementary School
  • Lawrence Elementary School
  • Mayberry Cultural/Fine Arts Magnet School
  • McLean Science/Tech Magnet School








Questions about this page contact:

Tamla Miller
(785) 296-4950



How does a school earn a Challenge Award?

The Challenge Awards recognize schools for outstanding achievements and uncommon accomplishments based on Kansas math and reading assessment results and other qualifying factors, specifically the sample size, ethnicity and social-economic status of those taking the test. We also now include graduation rates when calculating high school results and chronic absenteeism rates for middle and elementary schools. The steps used to identify Challenge Award honorees are as follows:

  • A statistical model is used that includes math and reading state assessments scores, the percent of the sample that received free or reduced-priced lunch and the percent that were members of an ethnic minority. Graduation rates and chronic absenteeism are factors, too. The top 100 Kansas schools are then selected.
  • Only schools that have a total percentage of free and reduced-price lunch students above the state average of 46.14 percent are eligible for recognition. 
  • The schools are then sorted into State Board of Education districts.

Copyright 2023 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)

To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations or for more information please contact the Office of General Counsel at gc@ksde.org or by 785-296-3201.