Kansas State Department of Education

KSDE FaceBook link KSDE Twitter link Contact KSDE


Before releasing model forms and guides for public use, the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE) Special Education Services department is required to provide the general public with an opportunity to comment on the proposed forms or guides. Federal regulations, at 34 C.F.R. 300.165, specify that prior to the adoption of any policies and procedures needed to comply with the IDEA, the State must ensure that there are opportunities for comment available to the general public, including individuals with disabilities and parents of children with disabilities. In its Analysis of Comments and Changes to the federal regulations, the Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) stated that the public participation requirements, specified in 34 C.F.R. 300.165, apply when a state education agency develops model forms (Federal Register, August 14, 2006, p. 46699-46700).

KSDE uses public comment as a valuable resource in an effort to develop the very best model forms and guides for Kansas schools. These proposed documents will be posted on the KSDE web site for public comment for at least 30 days. The public may comment on the proposed documents during the comment period by: (a) submitting a letter addressed to: Kansas State Department of Education, Special Education Services Team - Public Comment, 900 SW Jackson St., Topeka, KS 66612; (b) sending an email addressed to SESPublicComments@ksde.org; (c) attending a public hearing held during the comment period.

ESEA Fiscal Flexibility Waiver for Title I Carryover and Title funds Period of Availability - Thursday, July 8, 2021

The Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE) seeks public input on a proposed request for waivers that will afford additional fiscal flexibility for certain funds received under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA): Title I, 1127(b) allowing waiver more than once every three years, if necessary, the 15 percent carryover limitation in Section1127(a) for FY 2020 Title I, Part A funds, and Section 421(b) of the General Education Provisions Act (GEPA) to extend the period of availability of FY 2019 funds for programs in which KSDE participates under its approved consolidated State plan until September 30, 2022. A 30-day public comment period will begin on July 8, 2021. You may send written comments on the proposed waiver to: SESPublicComments@ksde.org or Kansas State Department of Education, Special Education and Title Services Team, 900 SW Jackson Street, Suite 620 Topeka, KS 66612


ESEA 20-21 Fiscal Waiver (PDF)


Opportunity to Provide Input -State’s American Rescue Plan (ARP) – Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ESSER) Plan - Monday, June 7, 2021

On June 7, 2021, the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE) submitted the state’s American Rescue Plan (ARP) – Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ESSER) Plan to the U.S. Department of Education.  KSDE seeks ongoing input from the public on the state’s American Rescue Plan (ARP) – Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ESSER) Plan.


You may submit comments via e-mail to: ESSER@ksde.org.


American Rescue Plan (ARP) – Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ESSER) Plan June 7, 2021 (PDF)
REVISED-American Rescue Plan (ARP) – Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ESSER) Plan July 13, 2021 (PDF)


Supporting Puerto Rico’s Displaced Students - Tuesday, October 31, 2017

On September 20, 2017, Hurricane Maria left a path of destruction in Puerto Rico that has left millions of Americans without clean water and electricity, and has prevented most students and teachers from returning to their classrooms. The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is supporting Puerto Rico Secretary of Education Julia Keleher and her team as they work to recover and reopen their schools. Hurricane Maria has also led many families to seek refuge on the U.S. mainland, and CCSSO is seeking to assist the states in supporting these displaced students and their families. (CCSSO has also reached out to U.S. Virgin Islands Commissioner Sharon Ann McCollum offering support to their students and educators.)


KSDE has designated Doug Boline, Assistant Director on the Early Childhood, Special Education, and Title Services team to act as a point of contact between Kansas and CCSSO as they work to: a) calculate numbers of displaced students in the states to help Puerto Rico plan; b) discuss ongoing support from the federal government for disaster-affected students; c) facilitate student records transfers for displaced students; and d) address other issues that may arise in supporting residents of Puerto Rico and their displaced students on the mainland.


To assist KSDE in this effort, we are asking that you notify Doug Boline when displaced students from Puerto Rico or U.S. Virgin Islands arrive to enroll in your district. Please e-mail this information to dboline@ksde.org.


Special Education, and Title Services Team

Bert Moore

Assistant Director
Doug Boline

Assistant Director
Kerry Haag

Assistant Director
Laura Jurgensen

Assistant Director
Tate Toedman

Coordinator for State and Federal Programs
Dean Zajic


SETS Team Pages

Main Team Page
Special Education
Title Services
Fact Sheets
Kansas Integrated Accountability System (KIAS)
Kansas Multi-Tier System of Supports (MTSS) (external link)
Kansas’ Technical Assistance System Network (TASN) (external link)

(Kansas Residents Only)

Problems with this page contact:
Evelyn Alden

Copyright 2021 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)

To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations or for more information please contact the Office of General Counsel at ogc@ksde.org or by 785-296-3201.