Kansas State Department of Education

KSDE FaceBook link KSDE Twitter link Contact KSDE

Career, Standards & Assessment Services (CSAS) Menu

The following sub-menu can be used to navigate within the CSAS Team web pages.

Charter and Virtual Education Advisory Council Page

Welcome to the Charter and Virtual Education Advisory Council Webpage! The Advisory Council meets three times a year to discuss charter and virtual education in the state of Kansas. The meetings are open to the public.


2017 Meeting Dates

  • February 1, 2017
  • June 7, 2017
  • October 18, 2017

Meetings are held at KSDE in room 117 from 1:30-3:30 pm.


Meeting Agendas and Minutes


Materials for Council Meetings


Charter and Virtual Education Advisory Council Members

Administrator – High School Representative

Ben Boothe USD 231 Gardner Edgerton

Administrator – Elementary School Representative

Gary Lewis USD 266 Maize

Administrator – Middle School Representative

Brooke Blanck USD 383 Manhattan

Certified Staff – Elementary School Representative

Delon Martens USD 312 Haven

Certified Staff – Middle School Representative

Melinda Byers USD 509 South Haven

Certified Staff – High School Representative

Sean Reilly St. Thomas Aquinas

Charter School Representative

Jason Chalashtari USD 373 Newton

Charter-Virtual School Representative

Keith Wilson USD 497 Lawrence

Community/Business Representative

Cindy Higgins University of Kansas

Early Childhood Representative

Clarissa Ross

Higher Education Representative

Steve Ternes Emporia State University

LEA Board of Education Representative

Curt Herman USD 383 Manhattan-Ogden

Parent Representative

Julie Wilson 

Service Center Representative

Bill Losey Southwest Plains Regional Service Center

Special Education Representative

Tom Lawson USD 230 Spring Hill

Superintendent Representative

Vacant - If interested please email bjohnson@ksde.org

Technology Representative

Bob D'Andrea Diocese of Salina

Traditional Representative

Christy Ziegler USD 512 Shawnee Mission

Virtual Program Representative

Jody Siebenmorgen USD 258 Humboldt

Virtual School Representative

Leigh Miller USD 259 Wichita

Youth Representative

Killashandra Scheuring

Kansas State Board of Education Representative

Steve Roberts District 2

KSDE Charter and Virtual Education Consultant

Branden Johnson KSDE


Graduation/School Redesign
Education Program Consultant

Mike Pounds
(785) 296-3444

Deputy Commissioner
Division of Learning Services
Brad Neuenswander
(785) 296-2303

Career, Standards and Assessment

Scott Smith
(785) 296-3142

Assistant Director
Career and Technical Education

Stacy Smith
(785) 296-0979

Assistant Director
Curricular Standards/Graduation
David Fernkopf
(785) 296-8447

Assistant Director
Beth Fultz
(785) 296-2325

Copyright 2020 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)

To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations or for more information please contact the Office of General Counsel at ogc@ksde.org or by 785-296-3201.