U.S. Senate Youth Program

The United States Senate Youth Program brings the highest-level officials from each branch of government together with an outstanding group of high school students — two high school juniors or seniors from each of the fifty states, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) — during an intensive week-long educational program held in Washington, D.C. The program is merit-based and highly competitive. Each student also receives a one-time $10,000 undergraduate college scholarship with encouragement to pursue coursework in history and political science.


2024 Eligible Students


All eligible students are encouraged to apply.

Applications are due October 10, 2023


To apply you must submit the following:

  • Completed personal information on application. (PDF)
  • Official academic transcript with unweighted grade point average (GPA).
  • Two letters of support:
    • One from either the high school principal or a teacher.
    • One from an adult advisor to the organization or student body entity that they represent confirming the student’s leadership position. Their leadership qualities and personal attributes.
  • Required two written application essays. Limit responses to 500 words or less per response. Word templates are here for use:
  • Signatures of principal and parents.

Please note: Materials received after midnight on application date will be automatically declined for submission for the 2024 program.

Congratulations to the 2023 United States Senate Youth

Delegates and Alternates


     Photo of 2023 Kansas U.S. Senate Youth Program delegates Sukesh Kamesh and Madison Coyne with Kansas Senator Jerry Moran

From left to right:

  • Sukush Kamesh, Kingman High School, Kingman-Norwich USD 331 - Essay (PDF)
  • Madison Coyne, Blue Valley West High School, Blue Valley USD 229


  • Kevinh Nguyen, Seaman High School, Seaman USD 345
  • Andrew Phalen, Lawrence High School, Lawrence, USD 497

Previous Delegates and Alternate Award Winners


  • William Rues, LaCrosse High School, LaCrosse USD 395
  • Gerrit Dangermond, Oskaloosa High School, Oskaloosa USD 341
  • Sean-Patrick Hurst, Yates Center High School, Woodson USD 366
  • Seth Christopher Jarvis, Burlington High School, Burlington USD 244
  • Charles Birt, Shawnee Mission East High School, Shawnee Mission USD 512
  • Sean Wentling, Derby High School, Derby USD 260
  • Benjamin Posch, Eudora High School USD 491
  • Elizabeth Kim, Manhattan High School USD 229
  • Matthew Inman, Erie High School USD 101
  • Reed Krewson, Blue Valley Southwest High School USD 229 
  • Eli Blaufuss, Newton High School USD 373
  • Benjamin Sawaya, Blue Valley SW High School USD 229
  • Benjamin Suh Jin Willits Posch, Eudora High School USD 491
  • Alejandro Rangel-Lopez, Dodge City High School USD 443
  • Jaron Caffrey, Haven High School USD312
  • Sandhya Ravikumar, Lawrence Free State High USD 497
  • Phillip Pyle, Eudora High School USD 491
  • Benjamin Wright, Abilene High School USD 435
  • John Campbell, Mill Valley High School USD 232
  • Tel Wittmer, Holton High School USD 336
  • Zachary Vega, Wichita High School USD 259
  • Grant Daily, Andover Central High School USD 385
  • Andrew Figueiredo, Wichita High School East USD 259
  • Jared Long, Beloit Jr/Sr High School USD 273
  • Brennan Cummings, Baxter Springs High USD 508
  • Chandler Burrow, Rolla High School USD 217


Important deadlines:

Important documents:

Questions about this page contact:

Tamla Miller 
(785) 296-4950


Copyright 2023 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)

To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations or for more information please contact the Office of General Counsel at ogc@ksde.org or by 785-296-3204.