Kansas State Department of Education

KSDE FaceBook link KSDE Twitter link Contact KSDE

Milken Family Foundation Educator Awards Symbol     Milken Educator Awards Program

The Milken Family Foundation Awards Program was started in the early 1980s. The Milken family saw the importance of recognizing great educators and developed a program that provides public recognition and financial rewards to outstanding educators. The first awards were presented to 12 California educators in 1987. Each educator in the program is given a $25,000 unrestricted financial award and the opportunity to participate in ongoing professional development at yearly state conferences, an annual National Education Conference, and through state networks of educators, state agency personnel, legislators, university personnel, business partners, and foundation staff. Since 1987, the program has awarded over $68 million to more than 2,700 outstanding teachers, principals, and educators. Kansas joined the Milken Family Foundation Awards Program in 1991.



                 2018 Kansas Milken Educator Awards Winner-Linda Dishman

Milken Educator Awards Progarm - Frequently Asked Questons - Milken Family Foundation

2017 Honoree                                    2009 Honoree                                                                                          

Heidi Albin                                            Brad Nicks                                                                

2016 Honoree                                    2008 Honoree

Stephanie Conklin                                Vanessa Martinez

2015 Honoree                                    2007 Honorees

William Smithyman                              Jamelle McConnell Brown and Eric Kessler

2014 Honoree                                    2006 Honoree

Amy Stanislowski​​​​                                   Karla Reed

2013 Honoree                                    2005 Honorees

Brad LeDuc                                           Stanley Bergkamp and Matt Copeland

2012 Honoree                                    2004 Honorees

Michael Berndt                                     Jim Armendariz and Dr. Victoria Seeger

2011 Honoree                                    2003 Honorees

Lisa Gruman                                          Jesus Bernal and Charles Jenney

2010 Honoree                                     2002 Honorees

Jeanie Weve                                         Cheris Bass and Jim Medina

                                              2001 Honorees

                                                               Michiel Ford, Jada Kohlmeier and Dr. Amy Murphy

                                                             2000 Honorees

                                                                            Nancy Harman and Jeff McAdoo




Communications and Recognition Programs
Team Director

Denise Kahler
(785) 296-4876

Questions about this
page contact:

Cheryl Franklin
(785) 296-4909

Tamla Miller
(785) 296-4950

Copyright 2019 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)

To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations regarding accessibility please contact the Office of General Counsel by email or at 785-296-3204.