Kansas State Department of Education

FaceBook Twitter Contact KSDE

Current Events and Issues

The Kansas State Board of Education is a member of the National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE). NASBE conducted its annual Legislative Forum in Washington, D.C. March 22-24 with the theme "Federal Education Policy Under Construction." SBOE members Carolyn Wims-Campbell, Jim McNiece and Ken Willard represented Kansas.


In April, the State Board will meet on Thursday and Friday, April 16 and 17, in Topeka.


The Kansas State Board of Education has developed a series of informational postcards. Each week during the legislative session a different message is presented following the theme "Kansas College and Career Ready." Electronic versions are displayed below.
A New Era of Leadership        Week 1

Statewide Vision Tour             Week 2 

State Board Members             Week 3

College & Career Ready         Week 4

Teacher of the Year Team      Week 5

Join the Conversation!            Week 6

Individual Plans of Study         Week 7

Nat'l Blue Ribbon Schools       Week 8

Kansas Assessments              Week 9

Innovative Districts                  Week 10

Education & Industry               Week 11







Board Secretary
Peggy Hill

Board Member Contact Information (PDF)

Kansas State Board of Education Live Media Stream

Next Meeting
4/16/2015 Thursday
4/17/2015 Friday

For more information about KSDE media streaming.

Copyright 2015 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records
The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)