Kansas State Department of Education

FaceBook Twitter Contact KSDE

Current Events and Issues

Newest State Board member Jim Porter and Board Chairman Jim McNiece participated this month in the New Member Institute, sponsored by the National Association of State Boards of Education. Mr. McNiece helped facilitate the sessions.


Jim Porter has been appointed to serve on the newly created Emergency Safety Intervention Task Force, representing the State Board of Education. There are 17 members on the Task Force.


Several Board members will help welcome building-level administrators during workshops July 31 in Wichita. The events are sponsored by the Kansas Association of Secondary School Principals and the Kansas Association of Elementary School Principals.


The Kansas State Board of Education will conduct its annual retreat in August under the direction of new Commissioner of Education Dr. Randy Watson. This year's retreat/planning session will primarily focus on establishing a vision for the state’s education system based on information gathered during the statewide community conversation tour held earlier this year.











Board Secretary
Peggy Hill

Board Member Contact Information (PDF)

Kansas State Board of Education Live Media Stream

Next Meeting
8/11/2015 Business Mtg.
8/12/2015 Retreat

For more information about KSDE media streaming.

Copyright 2015 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records
The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)