Kansas State Department of Education
search_arrow
 
Search




FaceBook Twitter Contact KSDE


Substitute License Requirements

Substitute License Types:

Standard Substitute License:

Must hold a degree and have completed a teacher preparation program in order to qualify
 
All applicants for an initial Kansas license must submit one fingerprint card for the purpose of a KBI and FBI background clearance report.  
 
One fingerprint card is also required for applicants whose Kansas certificate/license is expired.

Emergency Substitute License:

For individuals who have completed a minimum of 60 semester credit hours from a regionally accredited college or university
 
All applicants for an initial Kansas license must submit one fingerprint card for the purpose of a KBI and FBI background clearance report.  One fingerprint card is also required for applicants whose Kansas certificate/license has been expired.

Are there limits on the number of days I can serve as a substitute?
 
Yes, the number of days you can serve as a substitute depends on the type of license you hold.  The Quality Performance Accreditation (QPA) regulation 91-31-34(b) establishes these parameters.
 
I need to renew my substitute license/certificate.  What do I need to do?

For individuals holding a currently valid 5 year substitute license:

  • 50 professional development points awarded by a local Kansas Professional Development Council.

I have already completed the renewal requirements for my substitute license.  How do I apply?

Assistant Director
Susan Helbert
785-296-2289

Licensure Consultants
Lori Adams
785-296-3835
ladams@ksde.org

Krista Beckley
785-296-1105
kbeckley@ksde.org

Shane Carter
785-296-8011
scarter@ksde.org

Jenna Cook
785-296-5138
jecook@ksde.org

Nikk Nelson
785-291-3371
nnelson@ksde.org

Diana Stephan
785-296-2280
dstephan@ksde.org

Questions about this page contact:
TJ Boeckman
785-296-4073
tboeckman@ksde.org

 

Copyright 2014 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records
The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)