Kansas State Department of Education
search_arrow
 
Search




FaceBook Twitter Contact KSDE

Dyslexia Resources

Dyslexia is a type of learning disability.  It is characterized by difficulties with accurate and/or fluent word recognition and by poor spelling and decoding abilities.  It is specifically cited as an example of a learning disability in the implementing regulations of the IDEA and in the Kansas Special Education for Exceptional Children Act, under the definition of specific learning disability.  In its more sever forms, a student with dyslexia may qualify for special education services, special accommodations, or extra support services.

If you have questions about dyslexia and the statutes and regulations governing eligibility for special education services, please contact the KSDE Special Education Services Team.

Dyslexia within MTSS (PDF)
Dyslexia:  What Families Need to Know (PDF)
Khan Academy
VoyagerU Dyslexia Module
Using CBM-Reading Assessments to Monitor Progress
International Dyslexia Association (IDA)
Definition of Dyslexia (PDF)
Is My Child Dyslexic? (PDF)
Multisensory Structured Language Teaching (PDF)
Parent's Guide to Effective Instruction (PDF)
Recommended Reading For Parents (PDF)
Testing and Evaluation (PDF)
Dyslexia Basics (PDF)

Early Childhood, Special Education, and Title Services Team

Director
Colleen Riley
criley@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Doug Boline
dboline@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Sandy Guidry
sguidry@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Kerry Haag
khaag@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Jana Rosborough
jrosborough@ksde.org

Team Pages

Main Team Page
Early Childhood
Special Education
Title Services
Announcements
Reports and Collections
Fact Sheets
Kansas Multi-Tier System of Supports (MTSS) (external link)
Kansas’ Technical Assistance System Network (TASN) (external link)


1-800-203-9462
(Kansas Residents Only)
or
1-785-296-7454

Problems with this page contact:
Evelyn Alden
785-296-3868
ealden@ksde.org

Copyright 2014 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records
The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)