Kansas State Department of Education

KSDE FaceBook link KSDE Twitter link Contact KSDE

District 1 | District 2 | District 3 | District 4 | District 5 | District 6 | District 7 | District 8 | District 9 | District 10

Kansas State Board of Education
District 6



Dr. Deena Horst

Dr. Deena Horst
920 S 9th
Salina, KS 67401
(785) 827-8540 (home)


First term on State Board: 2013

Committee Assignments:

  • Legislative Liaison
  • State Board Policy Committee Chair
  • KSHSAA Board of Directors
  • KSHSAA Executive Board
  • Kansas Prescription Drug and Opioid Advisory Committee
  • Representative for Kansas Teacher of the Year/Kansas Foundation for Excellence in Education
  • Representative on the Public Education Positions Committee for the National Association of State Boards of Education

Dr. Horst is a retired educator with 41 years experience teaching - two years in the elementary classroom and 39 as an art instructor at middle and high school levels; recipient of the Master Teacher Award.  She spent 16 years in the Kansas House of Representatives for District 69 in Salina, with leadership roles on the House Education Committee and Legislative Education Planning Joint Committee; one of three new legislators selected to represent Kansas at the Bowhay Institute for Legislative Leadership Development.  She was a member of the Eisenhower Public Service Series Class of 2011 and was Chairperson of the Coin Commission that had oversight on the design and selection of the Kansas Quarter.

District 6 represents the following school districts in north central and northeast Kansas, listed in county order:


  • Chase County USD 284


  • Lego-Waverly USD 243


  • Chapman USD 473
  • Herington USD 487
  • Rural Vista USD 481


  • Lawrence USD 497


  • Geary County Schools USD 475


  • Madison-Virgil USD 386


  • Perry Public Schools USD 343


  • Emporia USD 253
  • North Lyon County USD 251
  • Southern Lyon County USD 252


  • Centre USD 397


  • Morris County USD 417


  • Kaw Valley USD 321
  • Wamego USD 320


  • Manhattan-Ogden USD 383
  • Riley County USD 378


  • Auburn-Washburn USD 437
  • Seaman USD 345
  • Shawnee Heights USD 450
  • Topeka Public Schools USD 501


  • Mission Valley USD 330
  • Wabaunsee USD 329

Board Office

Deborah Bremer, Board Secretary 
(785) 296-3203

Board Contact Information

Kansas Map of district 1

Click here to view map. (image)

Full Map (PDF)

Map (above) updated to January 2023 redistricting.

Copyright 2024 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)

To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations or for more information please contact the Office of General Counsel at gc@ksde.org or by 785-296-3201.