Kansas State Department of Education

KSDE FaceBook link KSDE Twitter link Contact KSDE

Kansans Can School Redesign Project banner

     SCHOOL REDESIGN        MERCURY 7       GEMINI I       GEMINI II       APOLLO       APOLLO II       APOLLO III      VIDEOS    

Kansans Can School Redesign Project

In support of Kansas’ vision for education, the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE) launched the Kansans Can School Redesign Project.

Kansas school districts are invited to apply each year to become part of the redesign project. To be considered for the project, districts have to designate one elementary school or one secondary school to be redesigned around the five outcomes established by the Kansas State Board of Education, the five elements identified as defining a successful Kansas high school graduate, and what Kansans said they want their schools to look like in the future. Each district also had to have support of their local school board, their faculty and their local Kansas National Education Association or other professional organization.

Learn more about each cohort on their cohort page: MercuryGemini IGemini IIApolloApollo IIApollo III 

Are you interested in applying to become a Redesign school? Join us March 1, 2021 for an hour-long webinar over Apollo 3. You can join from 7:30-8:30, 11:30-12:30, or from 3:30-4:30. Register here.   

Total Districts = 72

Total Schools = 180

Kansans Can School Redesign District Map MERCURY Coffeyville USD 445 Liberal USD 480  McPherson USD 418  Olathe USD 233  Stockton USD 271  Twin Valley USD 240 Wellington USD 353  GEMINI I Ashland USD 220  Basehor-Linwood USD 458  Beloit USD 273  Burrton USD 369  Canton-Galva USD 419  Dighton USD 482 Durham-Hillsboro-Lehigh USD 410  Fowler USD 225  Geary County USD 475 Kingman-Norwich USD 331 Leavenworth USD 453  Newton USD 373  North Lyon County USD 251  North Ottawa County USD 239  Ottawa USD 290  Renwick USD 267  Rolla USD 217  Santa Fe Trail USD 434  Skyline Pratt USD 438 Spring Hill USD 230  GEMINI II Andover USD 385  Caldwell USD 360  Cedar Vale USD 285  Clay County USD 379 Emporia USD 253 Fredonia USD 484  Halstead-Bentley USD 440 Haven USD 312  Haviland USD 474  Lakin USD 215  Little River-Windom USD 444  Lyons USD 405 Neodesha USD 461  Osawatomie USD 367  Peabody-Burns USD 398 Southern Lyon USD 252  Stafford USD 349  Whitewater-Remington USD 206  Wichita USD 259  Winfield USD 465   APOLLO Augusta USD 402 Barber County North USD 254 Columbus USD 493 Deerfield USD 216 Easton USD 449 Ell-Saline USD 307 Frontenac USD 249 Goodland USD 352 Herington USD 487 Holton USD 336 Hutchinson USD 308 Kaw Valley USD 321 Lawrence USD 497 Northeast USD 246 Oberlin USD 294 Perry-Lecompton USD 343 Uniontown USD 235 Wabaunsee USD 329 Washington County Schools USD 108

Click here to view the complete list of Redesign Districts.


DownloadFact Sheet: Kansans Can Personalized LearningFact Sheet: Personalized learning places the whole child at the center of instruction. It is informed by strong relationships between educators/ students/ family members/ community relationships to provide equity and choice in time, place, path and demo
DownloadKansans Can Personalize Learning: Research Base 
DownloadPersonalized Learning Infographic Infographic
DownloadPlan Year Timeline What to ExpectInfographic timeline for the phases of the project year.
DownloadLaunch Year Project TimelineInfographic timeline.
DownloadAscent Year Timeline Infographic explaining what to expect during the ascent year as a redesign school.
DownloadKansans Can School Redesign BookletKansans Can School Redesign Booklet
DownloadLift Off: How Kansas is Redesigning its Schools for TomorrowKSDE Report from March 2020
DownloadRedesign Success RubricThis rubric is a self-assessment for Redesign schools that can be used to evaluate their current performance level as measured against the six Redesign Competencies.
DownloadRedesign Leadership Competencies 
DownloadRedesign School Coaching Support Plan This project plan outlines the support for Redesign Schools for the 2020-2021 school year.
DownloadRedesign Mentoring Program: Project Plan  
DownloadKansans Can School Redesign Project Technical Assistance for Redesign SchoolsKansans Can School Redesign Project Technical Assistance for Redesign Schools
DownloadKansan Can School Redesign Districts InfographicMap of all the participating USDs and a list of all the schools participating in the Kansans Can School Redesign Project.



Kansans Can School Redesign Project graphic

Elementary School
Redesign Specialist

Tammy Mitchell
(785) 296-4623

Secondary School
Redesign Specialist

Jay Scott
(785) 296-6818

Redesign Coordinator
Sarah Perryman

(785) 296-1074

Questions about this page contact:

Theresa Cote, CEOE



Copyright 2021 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)

To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations or for more information please contact the Office of General Counsel at ogc@ksde.org or by 785-296-3201.