KSDE Weekly

Standards and Instruction

Six Kansas school districts receive school bus rebate awards

Thanks to $5.83 million in clean school bus rebates awarded to six Kansas school districts, a total of 17 new clean and zero-emissions buses will be on the state’s roads. 

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced on Sept. 29, 2022, that it would nearly double the funding awarded for clean school buses this year following high demand from school districts across the United States that applied for the 2022 Clean School Bus (CSB) Rebates. 

This is the first round of funding from the EPA Clean School Bus Program, which President Joe Biden’s Bipartisan Infrastructure Law created with a $5 billion investment for low- and zero-emission school buses during the next five years. 

The rebate application period closed in August with an outstanding response from school districts seeking to purchase electric and low-emission school buses across the country, according to the EPA’s website. EPA received about 2,000 applications requesting nearly $4 billion for more than 12,000 buses. 

The following districts received an EPA award: 

  • Southern Lyon County USD 252, four buses, $1.49 million 

  • Waconda USD 272, four buses, $1.58 million. 

  • Wabaunsee USD 329, two buses, $790,000. 

  • Sterling USD 376, two buses, $790,000. 

  • Caney Valley USD 436, two buses, $780,000. 

  • Halstead USD 440, three buses, $1.185 million. 

The applicant pool includes submissions from all 50 states, Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa and federally recognized tribes. 

The 2022 rebate program will fund about 2,500 school bus replacements. 

In Kansas, there are 13 districts on a wait list. If any of the districts that have been awarded funds decide they don’t want the funding or drops out of the program, the EPA will use a lottery system to select another awardee from the list. The districts on the waiting list are: 

  • Attica USD 511, two buses, $790,000. 

  • Auburn-Washburn USD 437, one bus, $263,000. 

  • Circle USD 375, two buses, $790,000. 

  • Ingalls USD 477, one bus, $395,000. 

  • Jefferson County North USD 339, two buses, $60,000. 

  • Kansas City USD 500, 25 buses, $9.87 million. 

  • Lakin USD 215, two buses, $790,000. 

  • Morris County USD 417, two buses, $790,000. 

  • Quinter USD 293, 10 buses, $3.41 million. 

  • Topeka USD 501, seven buses, $1.84 million 

  • Udall USD 463, one bus, $395,000. 

  • Wellsville USD 289, five buses, $1.97 million. 

  • Wichita USD 259, 25 buses, $9.87 million.  

Posted: Nov 10, 2022,
Comments: 0,
Author: Ann Bush

Theme picker

Copyright 2024 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)

To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations or for more information please contact the Office of General Counsel at gc@ksde.org or by 785-296-3201.