Kansas Teacher of the Year Program


The Kansas Teacher of the Year Award recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. Its mission is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession.


2025 Kansas Teacher of The Year Nomination Form 


2024 Kansas Teacher of the Year Finalists

2024 Semifinalists photos, regions and school districts.


  • Gretchen Elliott, Smoky Valley USD 400
  • Erin Pittenger, Rock Creek USD 323
  • Cherryl Delacruz, Topeka USD 501
  • Fonda Telthorst, Piper-Kansas City USD 203
  • Taylor Bussinger, Olathe USD 233
  • Michelle Tapko, Shawnee Mission USD 512
  • Joanna Farmer, Wichita USD 259
  • Melissa Haney, Goddard USD 265

Kansas Teacher of the Year logo 

2024 Dale Dennis Kansas Teacher of the Year Banquet 

Banquet Registration Form

For more information about the Kansas Teacher of the Year program, please contact:

Tamla Miller
(785) 296-4950

Communications and Recognition Programs Team Director

Denise Kahler
(785) 296-4876


Copyright 2023 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)

To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations or for more information please contact the Office of General Counsel at ogc@ksde.org or by 785-296-3204.