Kansas State Department of Education
search_arrow
 
Search




KSDE FaceBook link KSDE Twitter link Contact KSDE

Career Standards and Assessment Services (CSAS) Menu

The following sub-menu can be used to navigate within the CSAS Services Team web pages.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

DRIVER EDUCATION FOR OUT OF STATE (OOS) - PARTICULARLY OKLAHOMA (OK)
  • When a student lives out of state (OOS), they may take the classroom portion of driver’s education but will not be put into the Portal because they are not a Kansas resident.  Then if they have a Permit from their home state, that is not expired, they may complete the drive portion of a driver’s education class with a Kansas instructor.  If they pass the entire driver’s ed class, you will issue them the card from KSDE for OOS students which their home state may or may not accept.
  • Oklahoma verified that an OK Permit may be used to drive in Kansas as long as the Permit is VALID in Oklahoma.  You will need to reach out to Oklahoma to get that information at (405) 425-2059 (option 5) because that information is not available on their website.
  • Oklahoma’s requirements to accept OOS driver’s education are: 
    • Class must be taught by a Kansas certified school and instructor.
    • Class must include 10 hours of classroom and 6 hours of driving.

UPDATED DRIVER EDUCATION ADMINISTRATIVE GUIDELINES ARE AVAILABLE NOW!! 

KANSAS DRIVER EDUCATION FALL REGIONAL MEETING DATE AND LOCATION IS AVAILABLE NOW! REGISTER HERE https://forms.gle/5obu9LdJ8CdAquAD6 

KANSAS DRIVER SAFETY EDUCATION ASSOCIATION (KDSEA) MEMBERSHIP application available  Online https://forms.gle/Szv8kyriLH9Q931R8; Printable available Driver Education and Motorcycle Resources > Forms

Want the Driver Education Endorsement on a Kansas Teaching License? - Currently we are unable to add it to the license as we are awaiting approval, however once the regulation is passed, we will have an application available to formally request to add the endorsement to your license. 

USDs WILL BE REQUIRED TO UPDATE CURRICULUM ON FILE BY AUGUST 31. For questions, please email Robyn Meinholdt at rmeinholdt@ksde.org. Curriculum requirements are located in the Driver Education and Motorcycle Resources QUICK LINKS.

 

 

Information regarding reimbursement for USDs is located in the KSDE State Info 2018 document below.

Graduated Driver License Requirements for Teen Drivers CLICK HERE https://www.ksrevenue.org/dovgdl.html 

DRIVER EDUCATION STUDENTS AGE 14 CLARIFICATION found below. 

Approved Programs & Institutions

  • No Kansas Colleges/Universities have approved Driver Education Instructor programs at this time.

 

Driver Education

The Mission of Driver Education:
Driver education prepares students for successful careers and a lifetime of informed choices to insure personal safety to self and others on the road.

To Accomplish this Mission:
Driver education courses are often more comprehensive and efficient than learning on your own or from a biased family member who may or may not have “good driving habits”. Driver education courses teach everything from the basics of traffic laws and traffic signs to defensive driving strategies. Endorsed driving instructor will teach the importance of Safety in addition to modeling good driving etiquette and providing experienced instruction. Instructors reinforce best practices – such as distraction-free driving, no texting, mandatory seat belt laws, and defensive driving habits. Many professions involve driving a vehicle to/from work or on the job. For this reason, it is the goal of driver education courses to put courteous, safety conscience, competent drivers behind the wheel. 
 

The following document represents the Kansas Curricular Standards for Driver Education which were revised by the State Board of Education in May 2018.
 TitleCategoryModified Date
Kansas Model Standards for Driver Education (rev. May 2018)PDF8/28/2018
 TitleCategoryModified Date
Driver Education Students Age 14 ClarificationPDF2/15/2019
State Information provided by KSDEPDF1/25/2019
AAA Prevent Driving Intexticated Pledge CardAAA Prevent Driving Intexticated Pledge Card - Thursday, April 4, 2019

Please join in the fight to end distracted driving by signing the pledge card. https://kansas.aaa.com/public-affairs/dont-drive-distracted

 read more ...
Robyn Meinholdt
Public Service Administrator
Driver Education
Teacher Licensure & Accreditation
(785) 296-3379

 

Director of Teacher Licensure & Accreditation
Mischel Miller
785-296-8010

Assistant Director of Teacher Licensure & Accreditation
Susan Helbert
shelbert@ksde.org
 

Kansas State Department of Education 

LANDON STATE OFFICE BUILDING  900 SW JACKSON STREET, SUITE 106 | TOPEKA, KS 66612

Deputy Commissioner
Division of Learning Services
Brad Neuenswander
(785) 296-2303
bneuenswander@ksde.org

Director
Career, Standards and Assessment

Scott Smith
(785) 296-3142
sesmith@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Career and Technical Education

Stacy Smith
(785) 296-0979
slsmith@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Graduation

Branden Johnson
(785) 296-2078
bjohnson@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Assessment
Beth Fultz
(785) 296-2325
bfultz@ksde.org

Copyright 2019 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)


To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations regarding accessibility please contact the Office of General Counsel by email or at 785-296-3204.