Kansas State Department of Education

KSDE FaceBook link KSDE Twitter link Contact KSDE

Blue Ribbon Task Force on Bullying

On March 12, 2019 Dr. Randy Watson, Kansas Education Commissioner, announced his intention to form a Blue Ribbon Task Force on Bullying.  Citing data that 28% of students in grades six through twelve experience bullying, Commissioner Watson stated, “Everywhere I go, parents want to discuss this issue.  There are no easy answers.”  While anti-bullying measures have been in place for many years, efforts to eradicate bullying in schools have not fully succeeded.  This task force will research and identify current bullying trends, data, and prevention measures occurring across the state in an effort to better understand how to combat this problem.

The Blue Ribbon Task Force on Bullying is co-chaired by Dr. Rick Ginsberg, Dean of the University of Kansas School of Education, and Mr. James Regier, Superintendent of Whitewater-Remington USD 206.  The task force will consist of 30 – 40 members representing a variety of stakeholder groups including, but not limited to; parents, State Board of Education, Kansas Legislators, educators, school mental health specialists, and a variety of experts from groups that are disproportionately impacted by bullying.       

The task force will hear testimony from stakeholder groups as they convene meetings across the State of Kansas.  Information from these meetings will be used to develop recommendations that will be presented to the State Board of Education in December of 2019.

Task Force Members

 TitleOwnerCategoryModified DateSize 
MembersAmy Martin 4/30/201917.99 KBDownload

Meeting Agendas & Minutes

 TitleOwnerCategoryModified DateSize 
04/25/2019 AgendaAmy Martin 4/26/201928.44 KBDownload
04/25/2019 MinutesAmy Martin 4/29/201944.95 KBDownload
Meeting Dates and ObjectivesAmy Martin 5/7/201914.78 KBDownload
 TitleOwnerCategoryModified DateSize 
PUBLIC COMMENT GROUND RULESAmy Martin 4/26/201968.87 KBDownload

KSDE Taskforce Contacts

Myron Melton 

Email : mmelton@ksde.org 

Phone: (785)296-4941

Kent Reed

Email: kreed@ksde.org

Phone: (785)296-8109

Amy Martin

Email: admartin@ksde.org

Phone: (785)296-5608

Copyright 2019 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)

To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations regarding accessibility please contact the Office of General Counsel by email or at 785-296-3204.