KSDE Newsroom

KSDE News Logo

Two schools recognized as 2019 Kansas Schools of Character

Posted: May 1, 2019
Categories: KSDE
Author: Ann Bush

Other schools, districts also honored at ceremony in Topeka

Anthony Elementary and David Brewer Elementary schools, Leavenworth Unified School District 453, were announced as 2019 Kansas Schools of Character on Wednesday, May 1, during a special ceremony at the Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site in Topeka.

Recognition for these schools is given though the Kansas Schools of Character Recognition Program and sponsoring organizations - Character.org, the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE), National Park Service and the Smoky Hill Education Service Center.

Anthony Elementary and David Brewer Elementary schools are two of 87 schools across the country to be certified by Character.org as 2019 State Schools of Character. The two 2019 Kansas Schools of Characters will now be considered for the highest distinction – National School of Character. The announcement will be made later this month by Character.org.

The two Leavenworth elementary schools were honored in 2018 as Honorable Mention Kansas Schools of Character.

David Brewer Elementary School also is taking part in the Kansans Can School Redesign Project: Gemini I. The Kansans Can School Redesign Project was launched in 2017 by KSDE and the Kansas State Board of Education. The project was developed in support of Kansas’ vision for education - Kansas leads the world in the success of each student. There are currently four phases of the redesign project: Mercury 7, Gemini I, Gemini II and Apollo. To learn more about Kansans Can School Redesign Project, visit https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Fiscal-and-Administrative-Services/Communications-and-Recognition-Programs/Vision-Kansans-Can/School-Redesign

The State Schools of Character award program recognizes schools and districts that have worked to enhance social, emotional and character development. Character.org certifies schools and districts at the state level that demonstrate a dedicated focus on character development, which has been shown to have a positive effect on academic achievement, student behavior and school climate, according to character.org. Characer.org was founded in 1993 and is a national nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C.

Speakers and guests during Wednesday’s recognition event included Kent Reed, education program consultant for KSDE; Dexter Armstrong, National Park Service; Janet Waugh, vice chair of the Kansas State Board of Education, District 1; Myron Melton, education program consultant for KSDE; Kansas Lt. Gov. Lynn Rogers; Jermaine Wilson, mayor of Leavenworth; Brad Neuenswander, deputy commissioner of Education at KSDE; Noalee McDonald-Augustine, chair of the Kansas Schools of Character Recognition Program; and Sue Kidd, program coordinator.

More information on Kansas’ Social, Emotional and Character Development Standards, which the state adopted in 2012, can be found at http://www.ksde.org/Agency/Division-of-Learning-Services/Career-Standards-and-Assessment-Services/Content-Area-M-Z/School-Counseling/Social-Emotional-and-Character-Development. The Eleven Principals of Effective Character Education by Character.org can be found at www.character.org.

Other schools and districts that received recognition were:

Shifting School Culture Recognition

  • Beloit Junior-Senior High School, Beloit USD 273 (Gemini I school).
  • Central Elementary School, Olathe USD 233.
  • Cottonwood Elementary School, Salina USD 305.
  • David Brewer Elementary School, Leavenworth USD 453 (Gemini I school).
  • Derby Hills Elementary School, Derby USD 260.
  • Jackson Heights Schools, North Jackson USD 335.
  • Kansas City USD 500.
  • Meade Elementary and Junior High Schools, Meade USD 226.


Enhanced Spotlight Recognition

  • Beloit Elementary School, Beloit USD 273 (Gemini I school).
  • Caldwell USD 360 (Gemini II district).
  • David Brewer Elementary, Leavenworth USD 453.
  • Jackson Heights Schools, North Jackson USD 335.
  • Meadowlark Elementary School, Pittsburg USD 250.
  • Northern Valley District USD 212.
  • Olathe West High School, Olathe USD 233.
  • Oxford USD 358.
  • Spring Valley Elementary School, Geary County USD 475 (Gemini I school).
  • Starside Elementary School, De Soto USD 232.
  • Stockton Grade School, Stockton USD 271 (Mercury 7 district).
  • Walnut Elementary School, Emporia USD 253.

For more information about State Schools of Character or National Schools of Character, visit character.org.


Theme picker

Copyright 2023 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement   |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)

To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations or for more information please contact the Office of General Counsel at gc@ksde.org or by 785-296-3201.