KSDE Weekly

Upcoming Events, Trainings and Recognition

Principal of R.L. Wright Elementary School honored for leadership

Principal of R.L. Wright Elementary School honored for leadership

Congratulations to Julie Scott, principal of R.L. Wright Elementary School, Sedgwick USD 439. On Wednesday, Oct. 19, Scott was announced as one of nine recipients of the Terrell H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership for 2022.  

All nine school leaders from the 2022 cohort of National Blue Ribbon Schools will be honored during the National Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony Nov. 3 in Washington, D.C. 

The award is named for the second U.S. secretary of education, Terrel H. Bell. The award honors school leaders who are committed to education as a powerful and liberating force in people's lives, according to the U.S. Department of Education. The award is part of the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program. Principals are nominated by their school communities during the final stages of the National Blue Ribbon Schools application process. 

KSDE wants to congratulate the other recipients, too. They are Brigett Stewart, Piedmont, Alabama; Miguel Marco, Cerritos, California; Denise Aloma, Fort Lauderdale, Florida; Linda Bevil, Munster, Indiana; Catherine Bricelj, Lafayette, Louisiana; James Sonju, Rochester, Minnesota; Ryan Ambrose, Checotah, Oklahoma; and Mahri Aste, Fairfax, Virginia. 

"In her tenure of four years, Principal Julie Scott has been transformational to R.L. Wright Elementary School," the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program, U.S. Department of Education, wrote on its website. "She has been a breath of fresh and innovative air. Her vison has brought staff together to better serve students and create a positive learning environment that fosters each student’s achievement." 

To read more about Scott and the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program, visit https://nationalblueribbonschools.ed.gov/julie-scott-r-l.../

Posted: Oct 20, 2022,
Comments: 0,
Author: Ann Bush

Theme picker

Copyright 2024 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)

To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations or for more information please contact the Office of General Counsel at gc@ksde.org or by 785-296-3201.