KSDE Weekly

Upcoming Events, Trainings and Recognition

Forty-five teacher education students honored as Teachers of Promise

Forty-five teacher education students from 23 Kansas colleges and universities have been recognized as Teachers of Promise by the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE).

Colleges and universities across the state that offer teacher preparation programs are invited to select two teacher education students for the honor. Currently, 23 institutions of higher learning offer teacher preparation programs.

The selection process is determined by each college and university. Most institutions select one aspiring elementary teacher and one aspiring secondary teacher for the honor.

The 2020-2021 Teachers of Promise are:

Baker University, Baldwin City
Liam Barnsby 
Abbie Manhart

Barclay College, Haviland
Cianna Hall 
Taylor West 

Benedictine College, Atchison
Adriana Aquirre Cortes
Audrey C. Hartweck 

Bethany College, Lindsborg
Emily Ballantyne
Katherine Fowler

Bethel College, North Newton
Kendrick Weaver
Tristin Wheeler

Central Christian College of Kansas, McPherson
Breana Miller
Marissa Waddell

Emporia State University, Emporia
Shaina Melgar
Margaretha Penner

Fort Hays State University, Hays
Kelley Emmett
Mike Kelley 

Friends University, Wichita
Jarod Howard
Madeline Watson

Kansas State University, Manhattan
Emily Hammond
Anne Kenworthy 

Kansas Wesleyan University, Salina
Dalayna Demarte
Cody Montanez

McPherson College, McPherson
Reganne Barker
Kaitlyn Foster

MidAmerica Nazarene University, Olathe
Kayla Dailey 
Stephanie Ruley 

Newman University, Wichita
Rebecca Clifton 
Lina Anescar Meile 

Ottawa University, Ottawa
Ryan Haskins
Rachel Pruett

Pittsburg State University, Pittsburg
Heather Culbertson
Courtney Ross

Southwestern College, Winfield
Cole Griffin 
Brailey McMinn

Sterling College, Sterling
Adam Moore

Tabor College, Hillsboro
Wyatt Dickinson
Rebekah Kaufman

University of Kansas, Lawrence
Lauren Allen
Jacob Penner

University of Saint Mary, Lawrence
Keisha Harris
Stephanie Reichenberger

Washburn University, Topeka
Heidi Jo Hayen 
Natalie Lanman 

Wichita State University, Wichita
Darrien Davis
Kristin Ricket

Posted: Oct 30, 2020,
Categories: KSDE,
Comments: 0,
Author: Ann Bush

Theme picker

Copyright 2024 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)

To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations or for more information please contact the Office of General Counsel at gc@ksde.org or by 785-296-3201.