

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203 www.ksde.org

Danny Zeck District 1 Melanie Haas District 2 Michelle Dombrosky District 3 Ann E. Mah

Cathy Hopkins District 5

Dr. Deena Horst District 6 Dennis Hershberger

Betty J. Arnold

Jim Porter

Jim McNiece

SUMMARY OF THE JUNE 2023 STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MTG

Action

- Approved 8 public school district ESSER II change requests, 9 ESSER III expenditure plan applications and 16 ESSER III change requests as recommended by the Task Force for use of federal COVID-19 relief funds.
- Approved the Accreditation Review Council's KESA Recommendation to grant the status of Accredited to Erie-Galesburg USD 101, Rock Hills USD 107, Central Plains USD 112, Greeley County USD 200, Piper USD 203, Moscow USD 209 (redetermination), Minneola USD 219 Ashland USD 220, Meade USD 226, Smith Center USD 237, Wallace County USD 241, Palco USD 269, Chase County USD 284, Quinter USD 293, St. Francis Community USD 297, Sylvan Grove USD 299, Southeast of Saline USD 306, Nickerson South Hutchinson USD 309, Haven USD 312, Ellsworth USD 327, Mission Valley USD 330, Cunningham USD 332, Wellington USD 353, Altoona-Midway USD 387, Russel County USD 407, Moundridge USD 423, Victoria USD 432, Sedgwick USD 439, Scott County USD 466, Arkansas City USD 470, Chapman USD 473, Crest USD 479, Dighton USD 482, Kismet-Plains USD 483, Flinthills USD 492, Lawrence USD 497, Lewis USD 502, Baxter Springs USD 508, Parsons State Hospital S0507 (8614), Bethany-Lutheran Z0026 9710; Conditional Accreditation to Oswego USD 504 and withdrawal from KESA to Z0067 9930 Wellington Christian Academy.
- Approved appointment of Melanie Haas to the Special Education Task Force.
- Approved development of a district survey on firearm safety curriculum use.
- Approved updated English Language Arts standards.
- In 6 separate votes, the Board approved all items on the consent agenda.
- Approved appointment of Jim Porter to the KSHSAA Board of Directors for a two-year term for 2023-2025.
- Approved appointment of Casey Meier to the Kansas Commission for the United States Semiguincentennial.

Presentations

- Dr. Randy Watson monthly Commissioner's Report to the Board.
- Jacob McCarty, recent graduate of Eisenhower High School Goddard USD 265 provided a
 presentation to the Board on his internship experience during the spring semester of his senior
 year.
- Jay Scott (KSDE) presented 35 systems (31 public and 4 private) school systems for accreditation status and 1 public system for conditional accreditation status to be approved at the July meeting.

• KSDE staff members provided presentations on FY 24 budget recommendations to the governor, atrisk and title funding, teacher licensure, the Apprenticeship Mentorship/Professional Collaboration Grant with KNEA and the work of the School Improvement Work Group.

Discussions

- Doug Boline (KSDE) led a presentation and discussion on educational opportunities for students in foster care.
- Dr. Ben Proctor presented and led a discussion on the Every Child Can Read Act.

Next Regular Meeting – Tuesday - Wednesday, July 11th and 12th, 2023 (Landon State Office Building)