

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 60 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212)(
(785) 296-3203	

www.ksde.org

Danny Zeck District 1

Dr. Deena Horst

District 6

Melanie Haas District 2

Dennis Hershberger

District 7

Michelle Dombrosky District 3

Betty I. Arnold

District 8

B District 4

Ann E. Mah

lim Porter

District 9

Cathy Hopkins District 5

Jim McNiece District 10

SUMMARY OF THE OCTOBER 2023 STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MTG

<u>Action</u>

- Approved the ESSER III Change Requests for Use of Federal COVID-19 Relief Funds.
- Approved the Accreditation Review Council's KESA Recommendation to grant the status of "Accredited" to 499 Galena and Z0026-3676 St. John's Lutheran Elementary.
- Approved the Accreditation Review Council's KESA Recommendation to grant the status of "Conditionally Accredited" to 462 Central (Burden) and Z0029-8430 Christ the King (Kansas City).
- Approved the recommendations of the PPC and denied or revoked the licenses in the cases
- of 23-PPC-14; 23-PPC-19; 23-PPC-29; 23-PPC-31; 23-PPC-32.
- Approved the recommendations of the PPC and revoked the licenses of 23-PPC-01 and 23-PPC-06.
- In five separate votes, the Board approved all items on the consent agenda.

Presentations

- Annual Reports were provided by Commissioner of Education Dr. Randy Watson, KSHSAA Executive Director Bill Faflick, Kansas State School for the Blind Superintendent Jon Harding and Kansas School for the Deaf Superintendent Luanne Barron.
- The 2023 Kansas Teacher of the Year team gave a report of their activities over the past year, including the benefits they reaped from participating in this program.
- John Calvert, Director of Safe and Secure Schools Unit provided the board with results from the firearms safety curriculum survey.
- Dr. Ben Proctor and Dr. Jay Scott provided information on accreditation framework and encouraged board members to provide feedback.
- Shane Carter, Director of Teacher Licensure and Accreditation provided an update to the board on the fall vacancy report and the content exam appeal process.

Next Regular Meeting – November 14 and 15, 2023 (Landon State Office Building).