

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203 www.ksde.org

Janet Waugh District 1

District 2

Melanie Haas Michelle Dombrosky District 3

Ann E. Mah District 4

Jean Clifford District 5

Dr. Deena Horst District 6

Ben Jones District 7

Betty Arnold District 8

Jim Porter Jim McNiece District 9 District 10

SUMMARY OF THE MAY 2022 STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MTG

<u>Action</u>

- Approved the establishment of the Native American Adivsory Council; which consists of the Kansas State Board of Education, the Kansas Department of Education and the Kansas Board of Regents working towards the long-term goal of establishing a more permanent and formal advisory council for Indian education as members will collaboratively work towards improving learning systems to better serve American Indian students, families, communities and nations in Kansas.
- Approved public school district ESSER III expenditure plans (15) and ESSER II change request (11) as recommended by the Task Force for use of federal COVID-19 relief funds.
- Approved the recommendations of the Accreditation Review Council and award the status of accredited to USD 232 DeSoto and USD 446 Independence.
- In two separate votes, the Board approved all items on the consent agenda.

Reports and Discussions

- Dr. Tiffany Anderson, Co-Chair of the Governor's Commission on Racial Equity and Justice, described recommendations identified through study of racial equity within education. These recommendations consisted of implementing new alternative programs to address issues of student conflict and violence, eliminating the "zero-tolerance" policies, and teacher diversity.
- Members received a report and recommendations from leadership of the Graduation Requirements Task Force; in which they covered the importance of an Individual Plan of Study (IPS), postsecondary assets (aligning with a student's IPS), and results from their stakeholder survey.
- Dr. Mischel Miller, Director of Teacher Licensure and Accreditation discussed with the Board the current accreditation waiver for the substitute licensure requirements (relative to the number of days that can be served in the classroom) and the possible continuation of the waiver opportunity.

Recognition

Members recognized the 2022 US Senate Youth Recipients (two delegates and two alternates). The two delegates were Gerrit Dangermond, a junior from Oskaloosa Unified School District 341, and William Rues, a senior from La Crosse USD 395. The two alternates were Kevinh Nguyen who attends Seaman High School, Seaman USD 345, and Andrew Phalen who attends Lawrence High School, Lawrence USD 497.

Next Regular Meeting – Tuesday, June 14 and Wednesday, June 15 in Topeka.