

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203 www.ksde.org

Janet Waugh District 1 Dr. Deena Horst

District 6

District 2

Melanie Haas Michelle Dombrosky Ann E. Mah District 3

District 4

Jean Clifford District 5

Ben Jones District 7

Betty Arnold Jim Porter District 8 District 9

Jim McNiece District 10

SUMMARY OF THE SEPTEMBER 2022 STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MTG

Action

- Approved public school district ESSER II change requests, ESSER III expenditure plans and and ESSER III change requests as recommended by the Task Force for use of federal COVID-19 relief funds.
- Approved the recommendations of the Accreditation Review Council and awarded the status of accredited to 4 districts.
- In separate votes, approved recommendations of the Professional Practices Commission (three licenses granted, two issued with censure and seven denials).
- In two separate votes, the Board approved all items on the consent agenda.
- Approved KSHSAA's proposed amendment to K.S.A. 72-7114.

Reports and Discussions

- Commissioner Randy Watson gave a brief report on the Governor's Education Council that was held at Fort Hays State University on Friday, September 9th noting that a major focus was workforce development challenges – namely positive attitude attributes as well as teamwork/ethics. He then highlighted Chase County USD 284, Goddard USD 265, and Triplains USD 275 for their efforts in student growth and post secondary attainment.
- Shane Carter, Director of Teacher Licensure, provided an update on initiatives the Teacher Licensure team is working on with educators in the field as well as the work of the Teacher Vacancy and Supply Committee and the Professional Standards Board Substitute Working Group.
- A report was given by collaborators and a participant of the Sunflower Summer 2022 program.
- Other agenda items included receiving proposed graduation requirements; recommended amendments to the Kansas State Board of Education Guidelines and Policies; and a proposal for implementing the Kansas Purple Star School Designation program statewide.

Recognition

- Megan Morgan (library/media specialist, Manhattan USD 383) and Ryan Pfeifer (science teacher, Auburn-Washburn USD 437) were recognized as the 2021 Milken Educator Award recipients.
- Wellsville High School's 2022 FBLA National Championship winners Kendra Kemp (senior), Lola Kline (junior), Mason Lytle (sophomore) and Jake Richards (senior) alonog with their coach Dawn Rottinghaus were recognized for their outstanding achievement.
- Bill McFarland, Tim Rues, Tim Nedeau, and Paul BahnMaier presented the history of the Free State Legislature print, how it was discovered, and some of the interesting individuals included. They were also presented a certificate of recognition for their efforts to preserve Kansas History.

Next Regular Meeting – Tuesday, October 11 and Wednesday, October 12 in Topeka.