

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203 www.ksde.org

Danny Zeck District 1

Dr. Deena Horst

District 6

Melanie Haas District 2

Dennis Hershberger

District 7

Michelle Dombrosky District 3

Betty I. Arnold

District 8

osky Ann E. Mah District 4

Jim Porter

District 9

Cathy Hopkins District 5

Jim McNiece District 10

SUMMARY OF THE APRIL 2023 STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MTG

<u>Action</u>

- Approved 9 public school district ESSER II change requests, 6 ESSER III expenditure plan applications and 9 ESSER III change requests as recommended by the Task Force for use of federal COVID-19 relief funds.
- Approved the Accreditation Review Council's KESA Recommendation to grant the status of Accredited to USD 204 Bonner Springs; USD 230 Spring Hill; USD 239 North Ottawa County; USD 252 Southern Lyon County; USD 294 Oberlin; USD 300 Comanche; USD 346 Jayhawk; USD 356 Conway Springs; USD 359 Argonia; USD 364 Marysville; USD 365 Garnett; USD 366 Woodson; USD 379 Clay County; USD 464 Tonganoxie; USD 474 Haviland; USD 481 Rural Vista; USD 489 Hays; USD 495 Ft. Larned, Z0060 Accelerated Schools of Overland Park and accepted the formal withdrawal from the KESA process from X0045-0273 Urban Preparatory Academy.
- Approved proposed amendments to K.A.R. 91-31-31 and 31-31-35.
- Approved recommendations of the Professional Practices Commission
- In two separate votes, the Board approved all items on the consent agenda.

Presentations

- Dr. Randy Watson presented his monthly Commissioner's Report to the Board in which he proposed four goals for the Board to focus on for the next 18 months. The Board will vote to adopt these goals in May.
- Natalie Clark (KSDE) announced the 2023 Kansas Career and Technical Education Scholars.
- Jay Scott (KSDE) presented 14 systems (13 public and 1 private) school systems to be approved for accreditation status at the May 2023 meeting. Those systems are USD 106 Western Plains, USD 111 Doniphan West, USD 223 Barnes, USD 224 Clifton-Clyde, USD 235 Uniontown, USD 338 Valley Falls, USD 367 Osawatomie, USD 412 Hoxie, USD 420 Osage City, USD 431 Hoisington, USD 449 Easton, USD 469 Lansing, USD 503 Parsons and Z0026-0642 Linn Lutheran; Conditionally Accredited USD 245 LeRoy-Gridley and USD 422 Kiowa County.
- Dr. Craig Neuenswander updated the State Board on the current Kansas legislative session.
- The Board received a summary and update of the Emergency Safety Intervention Regulations (ESI) from Scott Gordon, general counsel for KSDE. A public hearing will be held on these regulations on

May 9 at 1:30 as part of the regular Board Meeting and they will be on the May 10, 2023 agenda for approval by the Board.

- Jon Harding, Superintendent of the Kansas State School for the Blind (KSSB) presented a draft Memorandum of Agreement between KSSB and Kansas State Department of Health and Environment that will be on the May agenda for approval.
- The Board received an update from Shane Carter (KSDE Director of Teacher Licensure) on the Registered Apprentice Program.
- The Board recognized USD 315 Colby student, Maddie McCarty, who was the winner of SIFMA Foundation's National InvestWrite Competition; USD 207 Fort Leavenworth, USD 260 Derby, and USD 263 Mulvane for their designation as a Kansas Purple Star School; and the 2023 Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

Next Regular Meeting – Tuesday - Wednesday, May 9th and 10th (Landon State Office Building)

Kansas leads the world in the success of each student.