KSDE Newsroom

KSDE News Logo

Two area teachers named finalists for Kansas Teacher of the Year during ceremony in Salina

Posted: Sep 9, 2017
Author: Ann Bush

TOPEKA — Gilbert “Gil” R. Still Jr., a fourth-grade teacher at Northwest Elementary School in Dodge City (Dodge City Unified School District 443), and Samantha “Sam” J. Neill, a high school English language arts teacher at Buhler High School (Buhler USD 313), were named Region 1 finalists for the 2018 Kansas Teacher of the Year award during a ceremony held Saturday, Sept. 9, in Salina. This award recognizes excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. 

As finalists for the Kansas Teacher of the Year distinction, Still and Neill each received a $2,000 cash award from Security Benefit, the major corporate partner for the Kansas Teacher of the Year program. In addition, they are each now eligible to be named Kansas Teacher of the Year, which will be announced during ceremonies in Wichita on Nov. 18.

Still and Neill were among six Teacher of the Year semifinalists from Region 1, which covers the first U.S. congressional district.

Other semifinalists were Carmen Zeisler, a fourth-grade teacher at Roosevelt Elementary School in McPherson (McPherson USD 418); Sarah J. Kueser, a third-grade teacher at Ellsworth Elementary School (Ellsworth USD 327); McKenzie K. Lueders, a high school chemistry teacher at Dodge City High School (Dodge City USD 443); and Ryan C. Miller, a junior high and high school agricultural education teacher at Cimarron High School (Cimarron-Ensign USD 102).

Each of the semifinalists received a red marble apple with a wooden base, compliments of The Master Teacher in Manhattan.

This year, 111 educators across the state were nominated for the Kansas Teacher of the Year distinction. 

Nominations are made in each of four regions in the state. The Kansas State Department of Education, sponsor of the Kansas Teacher of the Year program, appoints regional selection panels comprised of teachers, education administrators and higher education representatives to select semifinalists and finalists from each region. 

Each panel selects six semifinalists — three elementary teachers and three secondary teachers. From those semifinalists, the panel in each region then selects one elementary finalist and one secondary finalist. The Kansas Teacher of the Year is selected from among the state’s eight regional finalists.  

The mission of the Kansas Teacher of the Year program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession.

The Kansas Teacher of the Year team, comprised of the Teacher of the Year and state finalists, serve as ambassadors for education in Kansas, making public appearances across the state promoting education and the teaching profession.

The individual selected as the Kansas Teacher of the Year is eligible for national distinction as National Teacher of the Year.

The National Teacher of the Year program is a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers in partnership with the Voya Foundation.


Theme picker

Copyright 2022 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement   |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)

To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations or for more information please contact the Office of General Counsel at ogc@ksde.org or by 785-296-3201.