Kansas State Department of Education

KSDE FaceBook link KSDE Twitter link Contact KSDE


2020 Kansas Teacher of the Year
2020 National Teacher of the Year

Kansas Teacher of the Year logo 

Tabatha Rosproy 2020 Kansas Teacher of the Year

Tabatha C. Rosproy
Preschool, Early Childhood

Winfield USD 465
Winfield Early Learning Center
Cumbernauld Little Vikes
716 N. Tweed St.
Winfield, KS 67156

Email: tabatha_rosproy@usd465.com
Phone: (620) 222-1257


Tabatha Rosproy teaches preschool for Winfield USD 465 and Winfield Early Learning Center (WELC) in Winfield, Kansas. Housed in Cumbernauld Village, a local retirement village and nursing home, her classroom is an intergenerational program that provides preschoolers and residents with multiple daily interactions. 

This program serves at-risk, special education and typically-developing preschoolers in a full-day setting. Community members visit Rosproy’s classroom every day serving as grandparent volunteers, and the preschoolers are in the nursing home every day. One year into this partnership, this program boasts the highest preschool literacy and math scores in the district and has helped build new social capital in the community. Rosproy says, “Both populations benefit from this partnership every single day.”

Rosproy has a bachelor’s degree in Early Childhood Unified from Southwestern College and is near completion of her master’s degree in Education (English as a Secondary or Other Language) at Fort Hays State University.  

Rosproy is active on her building leadership team, is co-head teacher of WELC and serves as co-president of Winfield National Education Association. She is also active at the state level with Kansas National Education Association (KNEA).

Rosproy is part of the Cowley County Special Services Cooperative Early Childhood Academy Team, which provides training and support in positive behavior interventions for early childhood teachers in her county. In her decade of teaching, Rosproy has learned the importance of social-emotional education. She prioritizes social-emotional learning in her classroom, as well as educating families and other educators on this important issue.

For more information about the Kansas Teacher of the Year program, please contact: 

Tamla Miller
(785) 296-4950

Communications and Recognition Programs Team Director

Denise Kahler
(785) 296-4876

Questions about this page contact:

Cheryl Franklin
(785) 296-4909

Tamla Miller
(785) 296-4950

Copyright 2021 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)

To accommodate people with disabilities, on request, auxiliary aides and services will be provided and reasonable modifications to policies and programs will be made. To request accommodations or for more information please contact the Office of General Counsel at ogc@ksde.org or by 785-296-3201.