

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 60	)
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212	
(785) 296-3203	

www.ksde.org

Danny Zeck District 1

Dr. Deena Horst

District 6

Melanie Haas District 2

Dennis Hershberger

District 7

Michelle Dombrosky District 3

Betty I. Arnold

District 8

osky Ann E. Mah District 4

**Jim Porter** 

District 9

Cathy Hopkins District 5

Jim McNiece District 10

## SUMMARY OF THE AUGUST 2023 STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MTG

## <u>Action</u>

- Approved 1 public school district ESSER II change request and 32 ESSER III change requests as recommended by the Task Force for Use of Federal COVID-19 Relief Funds.
- Approved the Accreditation Review Council's KESA Recommendation to grant the status of "Accredited" to Rawlins County USD 105, Thunder Ridge USD 110, Norton USD 211, Lebo-Waverly USD 243, Ell-Saline USD 307, Jefferson County North USD 339, St. John-Hudson USD 350, Sterling USD 376, Osborne County USD 392, Marion-Florence USD 408, Little River USD 444, Dexter 471, Shawnee Mission USD 512, Good Shepherd Z0026-4560, Lutheran Elementary, Zion Lutheran Elementary Z0026-6862, Trinity Lutheran Elementary-Winfield Z0026-7344, Topeka Lutheran Elementary Z0026-8570, Faith Lutheran Z0026-9886, Dodge City Diocese Z0028-0000, St. Michael the Archangel Catholic Z0029-9887; and "Conditionally Accredited" to Bluestem USD 205, Ulysses USD 214, Grinnell USD 291, Wheatland (Grainfield) USD 292, Kinsley-Offerle USD 347, Centre (Lost Springs) USD 397, Peabody-Burns 398, Paradise USD 399, Canton-Galva USD 419.
- Approved plans for the KESA "Learning Year" for school year 2023-2024.
- Approved Evaluation Review Committee's Recommendations for Accreditation and Program Approval.
- Approved recommendations of the Professional Practice Commission.
- Approved the appointment of Jason Wheeler, Karen Wilson and Kimberly Reazin to the Professional Standards Board.
- Approved the appointment of Kellen Adams to the Licensure Review Committee.
- In four separate votes, the Board approved all items on the consent agenda.

## Presentations

- Dr. Randy Watson's monthly Commissioner's Report to the Board focused on the concept of "collective teacher efficacy" and how that produces success in schools when combined with skilled teachers and administrators.
- Cheryl Johnson, Director Child Nutrition and Wellness, presented the following Kansans Can 2022-2023 Best Practice Awards to: USD 232 DeSoto - Kansans Can Serve Local Foods, USD 469 Lansing- Kansans Can Impact Wellness, Quality Care Services, Inc - Kansans Can Serve Local Foods, First Choice Support Services, Inc. - Kansans Can Step up to Lead, and USD 326 Logan - Kansans Can Serve Local Foods.
- Jay Scott (KSDE) presented 4 systems (1 public and 3 private) school systems for accreditation status and 8 public systems for conditional accreditation status for a total of 12 systems to be

approved at the September meeting.

• KSDE staff members provided presentations on data management at KSDE, school district budget development, licensing test change recommendations, Special Education Advisory Council updates, school district audits, and an update on the USD 112 dissolution vote.

## **Discussions**

• The Board discussed guidelines for school districts to implement the newly approved graduation requirements.

Next Regular Meeting – Tuesday – Wednesday, September 12-13, 2023 (Landon State Office Building).