

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203 www.ksde.org

Janet Waugh	Melanie Haas	Michelle Dombrosky	Ann E. Mah	Jean Clifford
District 1	District 2	District 3	District 4	District 5
Dr. Deena Horst	Ben Jones	Betty Arnold	Jim Porter	Jim McNiece
District 6	District 7	District 8	District 9	District 10

## SUMMARY OF THE AUGUST 2022 STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MTG

## <u>Action</u>

- Approved public school district ESSER III expenditure plans and ESSER II change requests as recommended by the Task Force for use of federal COVID-19 relief funds.
- Approved 10 grade math assessment standard setting cut scores as recommended.
- Approved the recommendations of the Accreditation Review Council and awarded the status of accredited to 32 districts and conditionally accredited to 2 districts.
- Denied the application in the Professional Practice Commission case 21-PPC-16.
- In two separate votes, the Board approved all items on the consent agenda.

## Reports and Discussions

- Commissioner Randy Watson discussed the number of school districts achieving the different STAR recognition ratings and that it is not showcasing the hardwork done by school districts that face incredible challenges and have made incredible strides but are not yet to recognition status.
- Mark Thompson, Education Consultant for Physical Educatoin and Health, reported on the first cohort of participants in the Vaping ECHO for Education project that wrapped up in Spring 2022. A second cohort of schools will participate during the 2022-2023 school year.
- Dale Brungardt, Director of School Finance, presented on the portion of SB 62 that requires the KSBOE to establish a Kansas Children's Vision Health and School Readiness Commission.
- Tobias Wood, Chair-Elect of the Special Education Advisory Council, gave a summary of the council's work during their April 2022 and July 2022 sessions.
- John Calvert and Jim Green, Director and Asst. Director of School Safety, discussed with the board the various aspects that make up a comprehensive school safety plan and that there is not a one-size-fits-all solution. They also stressed the importance of positive relationships between students and adults and a supportive culture in school safety.
- A public hearing was held in the matter of the KSHSAA proposed amendment to K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 72-7114

## Recognition

- Callie Harris (USD 266 Maize) and Zerrin Oelze (USD 259 Wichita): national finalists for the 2020 (PAEMST) program the nation's highest honor for math and science teaching.
- KSDE Child Nutrition & Wellness Kansans CAN 2021-2022 Best practice Awards were given to USD 466 Scott County, USD 312 Haven, and USD 266 Maize- Kansans
- Washburn Rural High School Debate Team's National Championship winners Jiyoon Park and Zach Willingham and their coach Tim Ellis were recognized for their outstanding achievement.

Next Regular Meeting – Tuesday, September 13 and Wednesday, September 14 in Topeka.