

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203

www.ksde.org

Janet Waugh District 1

District 2

Melanie Haas Michelle Dombrosky Ann E. Mah District 3

District 4

Jean Clifford District 5

Dr. Deena Horst District 6

Ben Jones District 7

Betty Arnold District 8

Jim Porter District 9

Jim McNiece District 10

TUESDAY, May 10, 2022 MEETING AGENDA

8:30 a.m.	Pre-Meeting Activity: Breakfast with 2022 US Senate Youth Recipients
	(Conference Room 509)
Location:	Landon State Office Building, 900 SW Jackson St., Topeka, Suite 102.
10:00 a.m.	1. Call to Order — Chair Jim Porter
	2. Roll Call
	3. Mission Statement, Moment of Silence and Pledge of Allegiance
	4. Approval of Agenda
	5. Approval of Minutes (April 12 and 13)
10:05 a.m. (IO)	6. Commissioner's Report— Dr. Randy Watson
10:30 a.m.	7. Citizens' Open Forum
10:45 a.m. (AI)	8. Act on ESSER II Change Requests and ESSER III Expenditure Plans for Use of Federal COVID-19 Relief Funds
11:00 a.m. (RI)	9. Receive Recommendations from Commission for Racial Equity and Justice
11:25 a.m.	Break
11:35 a.m. (IO)	10. Report from Kansas Foundation for Agriculture in the Classroom

Location:

References:

Landon State Office Building at 900 SW Jackson St., Board Room Suite 102, Topeka, Kansas.

Services:

(Al) Action Item, (DI) Discussion Item, (RI) Receive Item for possible action at a later date, (IO) Information Only Individuals who need the use of a sign language interpreter, or who require other special accommodations, should contact Makayla Auldridge at (785) 296-3203, at least seven business days prior to a State Board

meeting.

Website:

Electronic access to the agenda and meeting materials is available at www.ksde.org/Board

Next Meeting: June 14 and 15, 2022

Kansas leads the world in the success of each student.

Noon		Lunch with 2022 US Senate Youth Recipients (Conference Room 509)
1:30 p.m.	(IO)	11. Recognition of 2022 US Senate Youth Recipients
2:00 p.m.	(IO)	12. Update on the Upcoming 2022 Summer Academies
2:20 p.m.	(AI)	13. Act on Recommendations to Establish Native American Advisory Council
2:40 p.m.	(DI)	14. Educator Shortage Information and Teacher Licensure Discussion
3:10 p.m.	(AI)	15. Act on Accreditation Review Council's Kansas Education System Accreditation (KESA) Recommendations
3:15 p.m.	(RI)	16. Receive Accreditation Review Council Recommendations for Kansas Education Systems
3:30 p.m.		Break
3:45 p.m.	(IO)	17. Graduation Task Force Report and Recommendations
4:30 p.m.	(IO)	18. Legislative Matters and Legislative Liaisons' Report
5:00 p.m.	(AI)	 19. Consent Agenda a. Receive monthly personnel report b. Act on personnel appointments to unclassified positions c. Act on recommendations for funding Kansas Parents as Teachers grants for 2022-23 d. Act on request to approve Preschool-Aged At-Risk Programs for 2022-23. e. Act on recommendations for funding the 2022-23 AmeriCorps Kansas Grant awards f. Act on recommendations for licensure waivers g. Act on recommendations of the Licensure Review Committee h. Act on recommendations of the Evaluation Review Committee for higher education accreditation and program approval i. Act on request to enter contract with Kansas Center for CTE (KCCTE) j. Act on Kansas Preschool Pilot-Governor's Emergency Education Relief Funds (KPP-GEER) k. Act on a request to contract for production of Child Nutrition Program Public Service Announcements l. Act on request to contract with the Kansas Association of Broadcasters for Dissemination of Public Service Announcement

- m. Act on request from USD 330 Mission Valley to hold bond election
- n. Act on request from USD 330 Mission Valley for capital improvement (bond and interest) state aid

5:10 p.m.

- 20. Chair Report and Requests for Future Agenda Items
 - (AI) A. Act on Board Travel
 - B. Graduation Requirements Task Force
 - C. Policy Committee
 - D. Committee Reports
 - E. Board Attorney Report
 - F. Requests for Future Agenda Items

5:30 p.m.

RECESS



900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203 www.ksde.org

Janet Waugh District 1

District 2

Melanie Haas Michelle Dombrosky Ann E. Mah District 4

Jean Clifford District 5

Dr. Deena Horst District 6

Ben Jones District 7

District 3 Betty Arnold District 8

Jim Porter District 9

Jim McNiece District 10

WEDNESDAY, May 11, 2022 **SCHOOL VISITS**

ANNUAL BOARD VISIT

9:00 a.m. Kansas State School for the Deaf, 450 E. Park Street, Olathe, KS 66061

1:30 p.m. **ADJOURN**

OPTIONAL ACTIVITY

2:00 p.m. Tour of Olathe West High School, 2200 W Santa Fe Street, Olathe, KS 66061