For Immediate Release Contact:


For questions about your state’s delegates, alternates or selection process, please contact: Ms. Denise Ka hler at (785) 296-4876 or Fo r general information about the United States Senate Youth Program, please contact Program Director Rayne Guilford at 800-425-3632 or Also see

Kansas Students Selected for United States Senate Youth Program

-- Students Headed to Washington, D. C. and to Receive $5,000 Scholarship-- Senators Pat Roberts and Jerry Moran today announced the names of the two Kansas students who have been selected as delegates to the 52nd annual United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP) that will be held March 8 – 15, 2014 in Washington, D.C. Caleb Hurst of Burrton and Elizabeth Thomas of Lenexa were chosen from across the state to be part of the group of 104 student delegates who will attend the program’s 52 nd annual Washington Week. The USSYP was created by Senate Resolution 324 in 1962 and has been sponsored by the Senate and fully funded by The Hearst Foundations since inception. Originally proposed by Senators Kuchel, Mansfield, Dirksen and Humphrey, the impetus for the program as stated in Senate testimony was "to increase young Americans’ understanding of the interrelationships of the three branches of government, the caliber and responsibilities of federally elected and appointed officials, and the vital importance of democratic decision making not only for America but for people around the world." Each year this extremely competitive merit-based program brings 104 of the most outstanding high school students — two from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity — to Washington, D.C. for an intensive week-long study of the federal government and the people who lead it. The overall mission of the program is to help instill within each class of USSYP student delegates more profound knowledge of the American political process and a lifelong commitment to public service. In addition to the program week, The Hearst Foundations provide each of the 104 student delegates with a $5,000 undergraduate college scholarship with encouragement to continue coursework in government, history and public affairs. Transportation and all expenses for Washington Week are also provided by The Hearst Foundations, as stipulated in S.Res.324; no government funds are utilized. Caleb Hurst attends Burrton High School and serves as the Student Council president and the Harvey County 4-H Council president. He is an active member of Burrton High and has also served as freshman and sophomore class presidents and has participated in various sports. He is a key member in the High School band and Jazz band. Caleb plans to attend Hutchinson Community College and apply for veternarian school.


Elizabeth ―Betty‖ Thomas attends Shawnee Mission West High School and serves as the president of her school’s National Honor Society, the varsity cheerleading captain, and Relay for Life’s event chair. She is a Kansas Honors Scholar, a National Merit Commended Scholar and an AP Scholar with Honor. Betty plans on studying international business and has yet to decide on her university. Outside of school she enjoys knitting, exploring the outdoors, Cajun food, and teaching swim lessons.


Chosen as alternates to the 2014 program were Alexander Houston, a resident of Lawrence, who attends Lawrence Freestate High School and Amelia Baumgardner, a resident of Louisburg, who attends Louisburg High School.


The chief educational officer in each state selects the delegates after nomination by teachers and principals. This year’s delegates were designated by Dr. Diane DeBacker, Commissioner of Education.


While in Washington the student delegates will attend meetings and briefings with Senators and Congressional staff, the President, a Justice of the Supreme Court, leaders of cabinet agencies, an Ambassador to the United States and top members of the national media. The students will also tour many of the national monuments and several museums and they will stay at the historic Mayflower Hotel in downtown Washington, D.C.

In addition to outstanding leadership abilities and a strong commitment to volunteer work, the student delegates rank academically in the top one percent of their states among high school juniors and seniors. Now more than 5,000 strong, alumni of the program continue to excel and develop impressive qualities that are often directed toward public service. Among the many distinguished alumni are: Senator Susan Collins, the first delegate to be elected U.S. Senator; New Jersey Governor Chris Christie, the first delegate to be elected governor; Congressman Cory Gardner, the first delegate to be elected to the U.S. House of Representatives; former Chief Judge Robert Henry, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit; former Ambassador to West Germany Richard Burt, and former Presidential Advisors Thomas "Mack" McLarty and Karl Rove. Additional notables include former Lt. Governor of Idaho David LeRoy, former President of the Progressive Policy Institute Robert Shapiro, military officers, members of state legislatures, Foreign Service officers, top congressional staff, healthcare providers and university educators.


Members of the USSYP 2014 52nd annual Senate Advisory Committee are:

Co-Chairs: Senator Jon Tester of Montana and Senator Bob Corker of Tennessee;

Advisory Committee: Senator Richard Blumenthal of Connecticut, Senator Joe Manchin III of West Virginia, Senator Patty Murray of Washington, Senator Tom Udall of New Mexico, Senator Kelly Ayotte of New Hampshire, Senator John Hoeven of North Dakota, Senator Richard Shelby of Alabama and Senator David Vitter of Louisiana. Each year, the Honorary Co-Chairs of the program are the Vice President of the United States and the Senate Majority and Minority Leaders.