s
Kansas State Department of Education KSDE FaceBook link KSDE Twitter link Contact KSDE

 KSDE Staff Directory

Office of the Commissioner

Dr. Randy Watson Commissioner rwatson@ksde.org (785) 296-3202
Penny Rice Administrative Officer price@ksde.org (785) 296-3202
Peggy L. Hill Executive Secretary, Kansas State Board of Education plhill@ksde.org (785) 296-3203
 
General Counsel
R. Scott Gordon General Counsel sgordon@ksde.org (785) 296-3204
Cheryl Austin Legal Assistant caustin@ksde.org (785) 296-3204
Kelli Broers Assistant General Counsel kbroers@ksde.org (785) 296-4955
 
Human Resources
Wendy Fritz Director wfritz@ksde.org (785) 296-5363
Gwen Kramer Administrative Specialist gkramer@ksde.org (785) 296-7795
Kim Mick Human Resources Professional II kmick@ksde.org (785) 296-3906

Division of Fiscal and Administrative Services

Dale M. Dennis    Deputy Commissioner ddennis@ksde.org (785) 296-3871
Tamara Milligan Senior Administrative Specialist tmilligan@ksde.org (785) 296-3871
 
Child Nutrition and Wellness
Cheryl Johnson, MS, RD, LD Director   csjohnson@ksde.org (785) 296-2276
Kelly Chanay, M.ED, RD, LD Assistant Director kchanay@ksde.org (785) 296-2276
Mark Thompson, Ph.D. Assistant Director mathompson@ksde.org (785) 296-4051
Pam Rosebaugh Public Service Administrator prosebaugh@ksde.org (785) 296-2276
Cheri Berggren Administrative Specialist cberggren@ksde.org (785) 296-1865
Carlene Eberspacher Administrative Specialist ceberspacher@ksde.org (785) 296-2276
Tessa Adcock, MS, RD Team Nutrition Project Director tadcock@ksde.org (785) 296-2790
Arleen Anderson, RD, LD Child Nutrition Consultant aanderson@ksde.org (785) 296-2276
Meg Boggs Body Venture Manager mboggs@ksde.org (785) 291-3605
Emily Brinkman, RD, LD Registered Dietitian ebrinkman@ksde.org (785) 368-8039
Sarah Bruschi Senior Administrative Assistant sbruschi@ksde.org (785) 296-7877
Karen Campbell Child Nutrition Consultant kcampbell@ksde.org (913) 728-2328
Barb Depew, RD, LD Child Nutrition Consultant bdepew@ksde.org (785) 456-7388
Angela Dittmer Child Nutrition Consultant adittmer@ksde.org (785) 348-5852
Diane Dysart Child Nutrition Consultant ddysart@ksde.org (785) 296-2276
Diana Floyd, RD, LD Child Nutrition Consultant dfloyd@ksde.org (785) 258-2045
Jeanie Galemore Child Nutrition Consultant jgalemore@ksde.org (620) 367-4650
Dessa Gifford Child Nutrition Consultant drgifford@ksde.org (785) 296-4970
Hilary Hanvey Child Nutrition Consultant hhanvey@ksde.org (620) 622-4620
Julie A. Henry Training Specialist - School Nutrition Consultant jahenry@ksde.org (785) 368-6270
Laura Hodgson Child Nutrition Consultant lhodgson@ksde.org (785) 296-2276
Sean R. Hoffman Training Specialist -  Child Nutrition Consultant shoffman@ksde.org (785) 296-4966
Michelle Irvine Senior Administrative Assistant mirvine@ksde.org (785) 296-2276
Cindy L. Johnson Professional Development Specialist cljohnson@ksde.org (785) 296-8172
Rachel Juenemann Child Nutrition Consultant rjuenemann@ksde.org (785) 296-2276
Jill Ladd, MPH, RD, LD Grant and Project Specialist jladd@ksde.org (785) 296-2276
Judith A. Neely, MPH, RD, LD Child Nutrition Consultant jneely@ksde.org (620) 251-4032
Lynette Osner, RD, LD Child Nutrition Consultant losner@ksde.org (620) 456-3133
Linnea Rieger, MS Child Nutrition Consultant lrieger@ksde.org (785) 296-2276
Roni Schwartz, MBA, RD, LD Child Nutrition Consultant rschwartz@ksde.org (785) 296-2276
Meredith Slan Public Health Educator mslan@ksde.org (785) 296-2276
Hannah Tillery Child Nutrition Consultant htillery@ksde.org (785) 296-7881
Tara Witthuhn Child Nutrition Consultant twitthuhn@ksde.org (785) 798-2128
 
Communications and Recognition Programs
Denise L. Kahler Director dkahler@ksde.org (785) 296-4876
Sherry Bukovatz Administrative Specialist sbukovatz@ksde.org (785) 296-2551
Ann Marie Bush Communications Specialist abush@ksde.org (785) 296-7921
Cheryl Franklin Graphic Designer Specialist cfranklin@ksde.org (785) 296-4909
Amanda Manville Communications Specialist amanville@ksde.org (785) 296-5223
Tamla Miller Administrative Specialist tmiller@ksde.org (785) 296-4950

Fiscal Auditing
Laurel S. Murdie Director lmurdie@ksde.org (785) 296-4976
Linda Wallis Administrative Specialist lwallis@ksde.org (785) 296-4976
Sheryl Bieker Auditor IV sbieker@ksde.org (785) 296-4976
Gwyndolyn Birk Auditor I gbirk@ksde.org (785) 296-4976
Kim Burd Auditor IV kburd@ksde.org (785) 296-4976
Jim Fritton Auditor II jfritton@ksde.org (785) 296-4976
Patty Herrman Auditor IV pherrman@ksde.org (785) 296-4976
Kevin Mercer Auditor IV kmercer@ksde.org (785) 296-4976
Rick Moen Auditor II rmoen@ksde.org (785) 296-4976
Scott Panetta Auditor II spanetta@ksde.org (785) 296-4976
Jamie Ribordy Auditor I jribordy@ksde.org (785) 296-4976
Janis Taylor Auditor II jtaylor@ksde.org (785) 296-4976
Stephanie Townsend Auditor II stownsend@ksde.org (785) 296-4976
Jerry Wilson Auditor III jwilson@ksde.org (785) 296-4976
 
Fiscal Services and Operations
Stephanie Smith Director ssmith@ksde.org (785) 296-4923
Angie Funk Coordinator afunk@ksde.org (785) 296-3264
Eric W. Liggett Accountant I eliggett@ksde.org (785) 296-0976
Ashton Martin Accountant amartin@ksde.org (785) 296-8933
Tim Mears General Maintenance
Repair Tech I
tmears@ksde.org (785) 296-3152
Tina A. Niehaus Accountant III tniehaus@ksde.org (785) 296-3962
Susan Pederson Accountant II spederson@ksde.org (785) 296-2243
Deb Smith Public Service Administrator dsmith@ksde.org (785) 296-3263
 
Information Technology
Lane Wiley Director lwiley@ksde.org (785) 296-2317
Charlotte Zeller Administrative Specialist czeller@ksde.org (785) 296-7931
Jan Williams Senior Administrative Assistant jwilliams@ksde.org (785) 296-6829
Kathi Grossenbacher Assistant Director kgrossenbacher@ksde.org (785) 296-3399
Axel Araujo Database Developer aaraujo@ksde.org (785) 296-3418
Christine Armstrong Applications Developer II carmstrong@ksde.org (785) 296-5711
John A. Baranski Information Technology Operations Manager jbaranski@ksde.org (785) 291-3312
Christopher Clark Applications Developer Supervisor cclark@ksde.org (785) 296-1203
Claude Collins Applications Developer III ccollins@ksde.org (785) 368-8040
Julie V. Cook Data Coordinator jvcook@ksde.org (785) 296-3300
Denise Davis Quality Assurance Technician ddavis@ksde.org (785) 368-7192
Mark Dechand Quality Assurance Technician mdechand@ksde.org (785) 291-3526
Brett Dietz Requirements Analyst bdietz@ksde.org (785) 291-3574
Chris Edwards Applications Developer III cedwards@ksde.org (785) 296-1222
Timothy Enneking Security Analyst tenneking@ksde.org (785) 296-0950
Kevin Fross Enterprise Support Specialist kfross@ksde.org (785) 291-3622
Tracy Gallaway Senior IT Trainer tgallaway@ksde.org (785) 296-6054
Jennifer Hayes Requirements Analyst jhayes@ksde.org (785) 296-6331
Andrew Higgins Technology Support Consultant II ahiggins@ksde.org (785) 296-6766
Greg Hiszczynskyj Database Administrator ghiszczynskyj@ksde.org (785) 296-4928
Brian Hosey Enterprise Support Specialist bhosey@ksde.org (785) 296-3709
Jason Howe Applications Developer II jhowe@ksde.org (785) 296-4958
Mike Jordan Requirements Analyst mjordan@ksde.org (785) 296-1970
Shuming Li Applications Developer II sli@ksde.org (785) 296-7976
Kyle Lord IT Project Manager klord@ksde.org (785) 291-3514
Todd Lowe Applications Development Supervisor tlowe@ksde.org (785) 296-7115
Richard Matteson IT Project Manager rmatteson@ksde.org (785) 291-3534
Karen McClintock Technology Support Technician II kmcclintock@ksde.org (785) 291-0599
Tammy R. McFadden Applications Developer II tmcfadden@ksde.org (785) 296-2316
Christopher Ortega IT Trainer cortega@ksde.org (785) 296-6829
Sarah Palubinski IT Trainer spalubinski@ksde.org (785) 296-3575
Dina Patel Applications Developer II dpatel@ksde.org (785) 296-6143
John Price IT Project Manager jprice@ksde.org (785) 296-6155
Michael Reb System Software Staff Consultant mreb@ksde.org (785) 296-5125
Donna Reinert Applications Developer II dreinert@ksde.org (785) 296-1208
Todd Reinert Enterprise Architect treinert@ksde.org (785) 296-0758
Phillip Salyer Applications Developer II psalyer@ksde.org (785) 296-5240
Suzie Sebring IT Project Manager ssebring@ksde.org (785) 296-4036
Shivani Shrivastava Database Administrator sshrivastava@ksde.org (785) 296-7778
Nik Stewart Technology Support Technician mstewart@ksde.org (785) 296-4961
Tom Tosh Quality Assurance Technician ttosh@ksde.org (785) 296-5039
Sarah Vanderpool Data Compliance Officer/State E-Rate Coordinator Svanderpool@ksde.org (785) 296-7943
Philip Watkins Technology Support Technician II pwatkins@ksde.org (785) 296-5229
Kelley Wiley Requirements Analyst kwiley@ksde.org (785) 296-5069
 
School Finance
S. Craig Neuenswander Director cneuenswander@ksde.org (785) 296-3872
Sherry Root Administrative Specialist sroot@ksde.org (785) 296-3872
Sara Barnes Coordinator sbarnes@ksde.org (785) 296-4972
Rose Ireland Public Service Admin. II rireland@ksde.org (785) 296-4973
 
Food Service and Federal Aid Unit
Jennifer L. Barger Public Service Administrator II jbarger@ksde.org (785) 296-4965
Nicole K. Norwood Public Service Administrator II nnorwood@ksde.org (785) 296-2243
 
School Bus Safety Unit
Keith Dreiling State Director kdreiling@ksde.org (785) 296-4567
Dennis Tate Assistant State Director dtate@ksde.org (785) 296-4545
Melissa Ostermeyer Training Coordinator mostermeyer@ksde.org (785) 296-5659

Division of Learning Services

Brad Neuenswander Deputy Commissioner bneuenswander@ksde.org (785) 296-2303
Theresa Cote Senior Administrative Specialist tcote@ksde.org 785) 296-2303
 
Career, Standards and Assessment Services
Scott Smith Director sesmith@ksde.org (785) 296-3142
Tierney Kirtdoll Administrative Specialist tkirtdoll@ksde.org (785) 296-3142
Beth Fultz Assistant Director bfultz@ksde.org (785) 296-2325
Stacy L. Smith Assistant Director - I.P.S. C.T.E. slsmith@ksde.org (785) 296-4351
Juanita Anderson Senior Administrative Assistant janderson@ksde.org (785) 296-1978
Lizette A. Burks Education Program Consultant - Science lburks@ksde.org (785) 296-8108
Kelli Byrne Senior Administrative Assistant kbyrne@ksde.org (785) 296-3784
Natalie D. Clark Education Program Consultant - Business ndclark@ksde.org (785) 296-4916
Wendy Coates Education Program Consultant wcoates@ksde.org (785) 296-3860
Kurt Dillon Agriculture Education Program Consultant Kansas FFA Advisor kdillon@ksde.org (785) 296-3956
Melissa Fast Education Program Consultant - Math/Assessment mfast@ksde.org (785) 296-3486
Angie Feyh Research Analyst I afeyh@ksde.org (785) 296-4908
Don Gifford Ed. Program Consultant - History/Government, Social Studies dgifford@ksde.org (785) 296-3892
Joyce Huser Education Program Consultant - Fine Arts jhuser@ksde.org (785) 296-4932
Branden Johnson Assistant Director, Graduation bjohnson@ksde.org (785) 296-8447
Lee Jones Assessment Coordinator ljones@ksde.org (785) 296-4349
Stephen King Education Program Consultant - Arts, A/V, Technology & Communications sking@ksde.org (785) 296-7285
Dr. Jackie Lakin Information Management Program Consultant jlakin@ksde.org (785) 296-2144
Pam Lamb State FCCLA Advisor plamb@ksde.org (785) 296-2164
Nancy Lister Grant Administrator-Enhanced Learning Maps EAG nlister@ksde.org (785) 296-7922
Jonathan Loppnow Senior Administrative Assistant jloppnow@ksde.org (785) 296-2078
Kathleen Mercer Career Pathways Coordinator ktmercer@ksde.org (785) 296-3261
Tammy Mitchell Elementary School Redesign Specialist tmitchell@ksde.org (785) 296-4623
Tony Moss Senior Researcher tmoss@ksde.org (785) 291-6177
Suzanne E. Myers Education Program Consultant semyers@ksde.org (785) 296-5060
Regina L. Peszat, Ph.D. Education Program Consultant - World Languages rpeszat@ksde.org (785) 296-1891
Joan Peterson Education Program Consultant - Driver/Motorcycle Education Director jpeterson@ksde.org (785) 296-8107
Gayla Randel, CFCS Education Program Consultant - Family and Consumer Sciences (FCS) grandel@ksde.org (785) 296-4912
Kent Reed Education Program Consultant - Counseling kreed@ksde.org (785) 296-8109
Jay Scott Secondary School Redesign Specialist jscott@ksde.org (785) 296-6818
Kris Shaw National Assessment of Education Progress (NAEP) Coordinator kshaw@ksde.org (785) 296-4926
Kelly Spurgeon, Ph.D. Education Program Consultant kspurgeon@ksde.org (785) 296-4924
Mark Stephenson Public Service Administrator II mstephenson@ksde.org (785) 296-3379
Peggy Torrens Education Program Consultant ptorrens@ksde.org (785) 296-2221
Becky Warren Public Service Executive I - SkillsUSA bwarren@ksde.org (620) 820-9367
Amanda Williams Senior Administrative Assistant awilliams@ksde.org (785) 296-0979
 
Early Childhood, Special Education and Title Services
Colleen Riley Director criley@ksde.org (785) 296-4949
Pat Bone Senior Administrative Specialist pbone@ksde.org (785) 296-3097
Kerry Haag Assistant Director khaag@ksde.org (785) 296-4952
Karen Maddox Public Service Administrator kmaddox@ksde.org (785) 291-3098
Tiffany Blevins Assistant Director tblevins@ksde.org (785) 296-7929
Doug Boline Assistant Director dboline@ksde.org (785) 296-2600
Dané Shobe Senior Administrative Assistant dshobe@ksde.org (785) 296-3743
Evelyn V. Alden Research Analyst I ealden@ksde.org (785) 296-3868
Linda Aldridge Education Program Consultant laldridge@ksde.org (785) 296-1101
Rachel Beech Education Program Consultant rbeech@ksde.org (785) 296-8965
Jordan Christian Public Service Executive jchristian@ksde.org (785) 296-3953
Nicole Clark Program Consultant II nclark@ksde.org (785) 296-4925
Julie Ehler, J.D. Education Program Consultant jehler@ksde.org (785) 296-1944
Julie Ewing Education Program Consultant jewing@ksde.org (785) 296-4906
John Girodat Education Program Consultant jgirodat@ksde.org (785) 296-3444
Pat Hill Education Program Consultant phill@ksde.org (785) 296-3137
Joan Houghton, Ed. D. Education Program Consultant jhoughton@ksde.org (785) 296-2515
Laura N. Jurgensen, J.D. Assistant Director ljurgensen@ksde.org (785) 296-5522
Chelle Kemper Education Program Consultant ckemper@ksde.org (620) 846-2542
Tammy Lutze Senior Administrative Assistant tlutze@ksde.org (785) 296-6066
Christine Macy Education Program Consultant cmacy@ksde.org (785) 296-3287
Stacie Martin Education Program Consultant smartin@ksde.org (785) 296-6855
Myron Melton Education Program Consultant mmelton@ksde.org (785) 296-4941
Stacey Noll Data Coordinator sfarrar@ksde.org (785) 296-3129
Cynthia Penrod Senior Administrative Assistant cpenrod@ksde.org (785) 296-7454
Xuewen Sheng, Ph.D. Senior Education Research Analyst xsheng@ksde.org (785) 368-7435
Dr. Diana Stanfill Education Program Consultant dstanfill@ksde.org (785) 296-7262
Kelly Steele Education Program Consultant ksteele@ksde.org (785) 296-2050
Beccy Strohm Senior Administrative Assistant bstrohm@ksde.org (785) 296-6602
Tate Toedman Assistant Director ttoedman@ksde.org (785) 296-6714
Mason Vosburgh Special Education Data Manager mvosburgh@ksde.org (785) 296-4945
Mark Ward, J.D. Mediation Program Consultant mward@ksde.org (785) 296-0920
Christy Weiler Public Service Administrator II cweiler@ksde.org (785) 296-1712
Ryan Weir Data Coordinator rweir@ksde.org (785) 296-7260
Teresa White Education Program Consultant twhite@ksde.org (785) 296-7884
Nis Wilbur Education Program Consultant Early Childhood swilbur@ksde.org (785) 296-4964
Linda Wisner Grant Fiscal Officer lwisner@ksde.org (785) 296-3637
Dean Zajic Coordinator dzajic@ksde.org (785) 296-2425
 
Teacher Licensure and Accreditation
Susan Helbert Interim Director shelbert@ksde.org (785) 296-2289
Christa J. Chesmore Administrative Assistant cchesmore@ksde.org (785) 296-8012
Jeannette Nobo Assistant Director - KESA jnobo@ksde.org (785) 296-4948
Bill Bagshaw Coordinator bbagshaw@ksde.org (785) 296-2198
Jessica Noble Assistant Director, Kansas Volunteer Commission jnoble@ksde.org (785) 296-3163
Ashley Christiansen Senior Administrative Assistant achristiansen@ksde.org (785) 368-7436
Lori Adams Education Program Consultant ladams@ksde.org (785) 296-3835
Lynn Bechtel Education Program Consultant lbechtel@ksde.org (785) 296-8110
Paula Branizor AmeriCorps Program Consultant pbranizor@ksde.org (785) 368-6232
Catherine Chmidling, Ph.D. Education Program Consultant - Higher Education cchmidling@ksde.org (785) 291-3573
Shirley Coffman Administrative Assistant - Licensure scoffman@ksde.org (785) 296-0952
Cindy Coleman Administrative Assistant ccoleman@ksde.org (785) 296-4935
Connie Comstock Administrative Assistant - Licensure ccomstock@ksde.org (785) 296-2733
Jennifer Cook Education Program Consultant jecook@ksde.org (785) 296-5138
Jamie Crispin Training Specialist, Kansas Volunteer Commission jcrispin@ksde.org (785) 296-5712
Cheryl Martin Senior Administrative Assistant - Licensure cmartin@ksde.org (785) 296-6712
Robyn Meinholdt Administrative Specialist rmeinholdt@ksde.org (785) 296-8012
Nikkolas Nelson Licensure Consultant nnelson@ksde.org (785) 291-3371
Amanda Noll Financial Officer, Kansas Volunteer Commission anoll@ksde.org (785) 368-6207
Destinee Parker Public Service Executive, Kansas Volunteer Commission dparker@ksde.org (785) 368-6211
Seretha Potts Administrative Assistant spotts@ksde.org (785) 296-5114
Diana Stephan Licensure Coordinator dstephan@ksde.org (785) 296-2280
Tom Stuart, Ed. D. Educational Program Consultant tstuart@ksde.org (785) 296-8011
Ann Yates Education Program Consultant ayates@ksde.org (785) 296-5140

 

Abbreviations

CACFP
Child and Adult Care Food Program

CNW
Child Nutrition and Wellness

CRP
Communications and Recognition Programs

CSAS
Career, Standards and Assessment Services

CTE
Career and Technical Education 

DLS
Division of Learning Services

ECSET
Early Childhood, Special Education and Title Services

EPC
Education Program Consultant

ESL
English as a Second Language

FA
Fiscal Auditing

FAS
Division of Fiscal and Administrative Services

FCCLA
Family, Career and Community Leaders of America

FCS
Family and Consumer Sciences

FFA
Future Farmers of America

 FSO
Fiscal Services and Operations

GC
Office of General Counsel

HR
Human Resources

IPS
Individual Plan of Study

IT
Information Technology

KEEP
Kansas Educator Evaluation Protocol

KESA
Kansas Education Systems Accreditation

KSBE
Kansas State Board of Education

KVC
Kansas Volunteer Commission

OC
Office of the Commissioner

RE
Research and Evaluation

SBSU
School Bus Safety Unit

SECD
Social, Emotional and Character Development

SF
School Finance

TLA
Teacher Licensure and Accreditation

Questions about this page contact

Cheryl Franklin
Graphic Design Specialist
785-296-4909
cfranklin@ksde.org

Copyright 2017 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)
The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)