s
Kansas State Department of Education KSDE FaceBook link KSDE Twitter link Contact KSDE

Career Standards and Assessment Services (CSAS) Menu

The following sub-menu can be used to navigate within the CSAS Team web pages.

Biliteracy Certification

Schools district may send utilize the provided Excel file to nominate students, who have attained proficiency in English and one or more other world languages.  Please review the Guidlines and Directions regarding the process.

 TitleDescription
Kansas Seal of BiliteracyAs adopted, May 2016 by the Kansas Board of Education, this will be awarded by Kansas State Department of Education and a local school district to recognize any student who has attained proficiency in English and one or more other world languages.
Guidelines for Kansas Seal of BiliteracyRevised 3/30/17. Please follow these guidelines created by the World Languages Advisory Council to award a state seal of biliteracy in your district.
Seal of Biliteracy Checklist How to GuideDirections for uploading eligibility criteria for a student receiving the Seal of Biliteracy.
Biliteracy Evidence Certificate ChecklistExcel file. Send to sealofbiliteracy@ksde.org
State Seal of Biliteracy Implementation Guidelines WebinarRecorded on Aug. 11, 2016; approx. 30 min.

World Languages
Program Consultant

Regina Peszat
(785) 296-1891
rpeszat@ksde.org
 

Deputy Commissioner
Division of Learning Services
Brad Neuenswander
(785) 296-2303
bneuenswander@ksde.org

Director
Career, Standards and Assessment

Scott Smith
(785) 296-3142
sesmith@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Career and Technical Education

Stacy Smith
(785) 296-0979
slsmith@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Graduation

Branden Johnson
(785) 296-2078
bjohnson@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Assessment
Beth Fultz
(785) 296-2325
bfultz@ksde.org

Copyright 2017 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)
The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)