s
Kansas State Department of Education KSDE FaceBook link KSDE Twitter link Contact KSDE

Career Standards and Assessment Services (CSAS) Menu

The following sub-menu can be used to navigate within the CSAS Team web pages.

Five Year Plan

Carl D. Perkins Vocational and Technical Education Act of 2006 (Perkins IV) was signed into law on August 12, 2006. The Career and Technical Education (CTE) act was designed as a 5 year process to provide school districts an increased focus on the academic achievement of career and technical education students, strengthen the connections between secondary and postsecondary education, and improve state and local accountability.  By creating a 5 year plan, in accordance with the guidance of the Perkins IV act, Kansas school districts apply for grant funds to support CTE classes, teachers and programs in their secondary schools.  Applications are submitted to and awarded by Kansas State Department of Education on a yearly basis to districts, who are then accountable through the submission of two progress reports, a final report to identify activities and uses of funds as mandated by the grant, and a variety of monitoring processes. 

Coordinator
Kathleen Mercer
(785) 296-2307
ktmercer@ksde.org

Deputy Commissioner
Division of Learning Services
Brad Neuenswander
(785) 296-2303
bneuenswander@ksde.org

Director
Career, Standards and Assessment

Scott Smith
(785) 296-3142
sesmith@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Career and Technical Education

Stacy Smith
(785) 296-0979
slsmith@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Graduation

Branden Johnson
(785) 296-2078
bjohnson@ksde.org

Assistant Director
Assessment
Beth Fultz
(785) 296-2325
bfultz@ksde.org

Copyright 2017 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records (PDF)
The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)